Summer Fresh Tomato Basil Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This makes a lot, so I cut it in half. Even so, 1 cup of basil is a lot of chopping! This dip tastes so garden fresh... don't leave out the lemon - it adds a brightness to the finished product. I found my pieces of basil to be too big and a little unappealing in the dip, so I suggest chopping it really, really small. I served with baked pita chips, but I think it would go nice on potato chips too. I used full fat dairy products.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Nice to finally find a good homemade dip. Basil adds a wonderful taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I think that this would be better used as a sandwich spread than a dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I don't care for the fat free cream cheese or sour cream so I used LOW fat instead and let the cream cheese come to room temperature before I started. I think it would be a good idea to salt the tomato slices first and drain them for awhile before you put them in the dip, to remove some of the liquid, and substitute onion powder instead of onion salt. This would give the dip a better consistency without changing the flavor. You could also roast the tomatoes first or use sun-dried packed in oil, just drain and pat the oil off with paper towels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I used sun dried tomatoes instead of fresh and added mozzarella...after sitting overnight it was really outstanding. Took it to work for a potluck and everyone loved it! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Since this recipe had such high reviews I thought it would be "safe" to make for a party the next day. I followed the directions exactly and I should have mixed the softened cream cheese first. I should have known that. It's not my first time in the kitchen. But - what I got when I mixed everything together was a lumpy mess that looked like cottage cheese mixed with salsa. I can't serve that for a party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
So good! Our whole family loved it! I wouldn't change a thing. The combination of the tomato with the fresh basil and parsley make a refreshing summer dip with crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
I made this recipe exactally how it said and all i could taste was cream cheese. you couldn't taste anything else. plus no matter how long i mixed the dip was still very thick and wouldn't have been good for anthing but carrots. i finally added in some ranch dressing and that helped thin it out and give it a flavor other than cream cheese. will not be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
very easy, healthy and tastes great. brought it to work and everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I really liked this recipe. However, I adapted it quite a bit, based on my needs. I used a cashew cream and extra lemon juice instead of the dairy ingredients, and omitted the parsley, since I had none. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States