Summer Corn Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Easy recipe and was very good - 4.5 stars if I had that option.... it was missing SOMETHING though, so I added a TBSP of balsamic vinegar for a little zest. Next time I plan to try to use grape tomatoes as some of the other reviews recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This was so yummy and sweet! I used Balsamic instead of white vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This salad freezes well and the flavors are great together! I even used frozen corn along with the few ears of corn I had...very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Love this salad. We did a low country boil and had several ears of corn left over. The following day we used the leftover corn for this recipe. So yummy! We used a sweet onion and squeezed in a lime for a little more flavor. New summer staple now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Garden basil, tomatoes and fresh New England corn!!! Great recipe! I could not stop nibbling.... Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medway, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
The best way to make this salad sing is to make the vinaigrette separately; whisk vinegar, basil, salt/pepper, then slowly whisk in oil, THEN pour over the salad. The dressing holds together better, and all the vinegar droplets get the benefit of the spices, making sure every bite is well seasoned. It's about the spiced vinegar being suspended in the oil. Just my 2 cents, but it makes a taste difference. I make a similar salad, but use green onions. And lemon in the vinaigrette. Otherwise, it's the same, and VERY tasty, especially if you dress it about 15 minutes before serving to let the flavors do their thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Loved this fresh summer salad! I halved it as just the two of us and it still made tons! I did change the ingredients to what I had on hand. I cut the sweet white corn raw off the cob. I subbed one cup grape tomatoes, purple onion and added a small sliced zuccini. I did keep the vinaigrette portions the same and it was perfect. I used four tbsp of white balsamic vinegar as it doesn't have that bite white distilled can have. Thanks for a winning recipe, Eileen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This is delicious! *Choose ripe, plump, healthy-looking sweet corn!* I usually don't care, but for this, it will cut easier and look nicer. I followed the directions almost perfectly, except to cook the corn, I husked it, put it in a pot, covered it in water with 1 tbsp lemon juice and 1 tbsp sugar, brought it to a boil, let it boil for 2 minutes, then took it off the burner and let it sit in the hot water, partially covered, for 10 minutes. Drained and cooled before cutting. Used red onion and soaked it in cold water for 15 minutes to remove the sharp bite. Used only 2 tbsp olive oil. Used 1 pint halved cherry tomatoes - looked pretty! Was worried about the vinegar, but I can tell you that it will taste GREAT after it chills! So refreshing! Edit: LOVE the bundt pan idea for the corn kernels! Also, I now use 8 ears corn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
My Mom & I only tasted it before & after it got to marinade since I was only making it as part of dinner that consisted of bbq pulled pork sandwiches and the colslaw that had to be split between 2 families so I had to change the servings to 12 ears of corn.I hope they absolutely love it as much as we did! The only thing I did different was use white corn on the cob and broiled it for 10-15min rotating so some of the kernals were browned or blacked it added awesome summertime flavor and look to the dish..doesn't always cook it all the way so I put them in a deep skillet filled maybe a quarter of the way or less up the corn, covered and cooked/steamed over medium heat for maybe 15 (keep checking the water to make sure it doesn't all evaporate, an 1/8th less oil and vinigar simply because it was the last of the oil but I don't like my salads too oily anyways so it worked out perfect. I also used green onions instead of white because its what I had,I like them better in salads and most other things.Besides that I used fresh tomatoes & basil from our gardens.I will definately be making this over & over again in the future and may get more creative when I have more time and am making it for my family.I love that you can taste the flavor of every ingredient and it is not overpowered by seasoning,just a little sea salt and fresh ground pepper.PERFECT! Everyone had some great ideas for extra add in vegtables!I'd love to serve this with some fresh sliced or chunked hass avacados.Yum:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States