Summer Corn Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I made this to bring to a party as a nice alternative to a potato salad. I am not a big fan of onions, but I tried a taste and it was very flavorful. I received many compliments. Based on the reviews and time constraints, I made this a day ahead. I also grilled the corn rather than boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This recipe is simple and just right! I used frozen corn, and the flavor is still farm-fresh. I made this as a side to some Mexican lasagna. Edit: It's become one of my go-to potluck dishes. The salad gets rave reviews and I never have to take any home. It's also safe in the heat since there's no mayonnaise. I usually make the salad with the corn still frozen and store the chopped basil in a plastic baggie until about an hour before serving. By that time it's thawed, the basil isn't wilted, and is still nice and cold when people want to eat! Also, I cut the basil and onion into thin strips instead of dicing. I just think it looks nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
yum!!! I just made this for my beach house bbq. Sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This is such a fresh salad. I made it to go with Lobster and it was a great combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This was so good made with fresh, locally grown corn, tomatoes, and onions. I had to use freeze dried basil because I didn't grow any, and the local market didn't have fresh, but it still turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Very good salad! Great way to use fresh sweet corn, I also used a sweet onion. Great salad to take for a get together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This salad was pretty, light and tasty, but I felt that something was just a tad missing? I did make two minor changes in that I only added about half of a Vidalia onion rather than an entire onion, because it was quite large, and I used half white vinegar and half balsamic (for a little extra kick) Overall it was good, but not outstanding. I think next time I will try using cilantro and adding some lime to this for a more flavorful 'mexi-corn' version. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Great salad! My husband is a picky eater, but he loved this salad. I made this dish a few times, it is always great and refreshing. I also changed it up a little,I use frozen corn and leave tomatoes and basil out and add kidney beans instead. You can mix pretty much anything you have in the pantry as long as you use corn and the dressing as base. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I have never had corn salad and I hope I was right to make it a day in advance, but from the start it taste great and this is one of the prettiest salads I have ever made or seen. It looks like sunshine. Thank you Eileen, Can't wait for out cook out tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by auggie
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
really good. I had a giant can of corn sitting idle taking up precious space in my cramped kitchen....I used purple onion and way less oil (about 2 tablespoons) and rice vinegar. Chill for at least an hour and enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States