Summer Chicken Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Just about any way you choose to prepare these, they are delicious summer fare! The way I generally make these is to marinate my thin-sliced chicken breasts in a garlic vinaigrette and season them to taste. Lightly toasted onion buns thrown on the grill are fabulous! On the other side of the grill, I grill the onions (either Vidalia or Maui sweet) which have been tossed in a bit of canola oil and a sprinkling of sea salt and pepper in a foil packet. Sometimes I make the avocado spread, sometimes I use thinly-sliced avocado. I love mine with a little butter lettuce as well. Use whatever kind of cheese you like; it's all delicious! I generally serve with a side of sweet potato fries or a fresh bean or pasta salad. Bon Appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Everything works together really well! I made homemade guacamole and spread it on instead of just laying slices of avocado. It was a good little switch and the flavors really popped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I love these. Have been making them over a year now and realized i should rate the recipe!! I make them pretty true as written, but have also done them without the avocado (sometimes i can't get them ripe from the grocery on day of cooking) and sometimes without the onion (i forgot....). Sometimes i use good quality buns, sometimes basic cheap-o burger buns. Tonight, I am frying bacon to go on top and will caramelize the onions in the bacon grease. They are very delicious any way. Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This was a great, easy to prepare chicken burger. I would make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, California, USA
Living In: Pomona, California, USA
Photo by Mollie Mary Frances
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Excellent chicken burgers! I added extra avacado and I left off the onion and used swiss cheese instead of provolone, because that's what I had on hand. I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie Mary Frances

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
My rating has more to do with my substitution than the recipe itself. USE AVOCADO! I grabbed some avocado spread instead and although it was not bad, this sandwich would have been MUCH better with real avocado. The idea is great and the chicken was too, but sometimes leaving well enough alone is worth the extra time and effort it may take. UPDATE 07/2012: We had this again the other night and made them with avocado slices. I upgraded my rating from 3 stars to 4. It was DEFINITELY worth the small effort it takes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Really good. I also didn't make the avacado spread and instead layered the avacado on top like it is in the picture. I squeezed lemon juice on to the chicken right before I added the cheese. I didn't use mayo and instead used mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsLucas10

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This was a perfect taste of summer. I don't have a grill, or even a place to put one, so I did the whole thing on the stove. Whoever said to include bacon was 100% correct. I cooked the bacon, then left the grease in the skillet and cooked everything else in the bacon grease. As the chicken was close to done, I stacked onions, bacon and then cheese on top of the breast and let the cheese melt. Like others, I combined the mayo and avocado, plus some garlic powder, for a creamy, tangy finishing touch. As for the chicken itself, I took one chicken breast and cut it in half so that I had 2 thin chicken patties (only made 2, just me and my husband). I then lightly sprinkled seasoned salt on both sides of the chicken. I think seasoning provides a little more interest to the flavor without overpower the other flavors in the "burger." I'm sure garlic powder, cajun seasoning or adobo powder would all work well too. Cooked in the bacon grease, the chicken was so juicy and flavorful. I served it with sweet potato fries, corn on the cob and raw broccoli. It totally hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Great weeknight recipe! I used the chicken cutlets and they cooked fast and stayed tender. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Very good overall, but between the provolone cheese + mayo + avocado + butter used, I found it to be seriously (bordering on sickeningly) rich if you don't watch your portions. It's actually a fairly healthy recipe just based on ingredients, but the fat content is astronomical. I recommend this recipe, but I'd suggest going light with the mayo and slicing the avocado pretty thin on each burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Chicken Burgers

Put a healthy and delicious turn on typical grilled burgers.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States