Summer Chicken Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
We used ciabatta bread instead of hamburger buns - I highly recommend this substitution. We also lightly coated the chicken in a sweet mustard sauce and caramelized the onions. Delicious is the only word for this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
This was as good, if not better, than a chicken sandwich you would get in a restaurant. We followed the recipe exactly. We used hamburger buns from the bakery department.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Fantastic recipe. I don't use mayonnaise, but it was perfectly good without it. Next time I'm going to try to put some ranch on it and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Really a big hit with family, but I did the following: 1)mashed the avocado and mixed with lemon juice, 2)seasoned the chicken breasts with garlic powder, s&p, 3) lightly buttered the buns and toasted in oven, 4) sautéed Chicken in skillet (our grill is broken), after the onions had been caramelized in it. Other than that I followed the recipe. Would give it 4.5 stars actually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Just about any way you choose to prepare these, they are delicious summer fare! The way I generally make these is to marinate my thin-sliced chicken breasts in a garlic vinaigrette and season them to taste. Lightly toasted onion buns thrown on the grill are fabulous! On the other side of the grill, I grill the onions (either Vidalia or Maui sweet) which have been tossed in a bit of canola oil and a sprinkling of sea salt and pepper in a foil packet. Sometimes I make the avocado spread, sometimes I use thinly-sliced avocado. I love mine with a little butter lettuce as well. Use whatever kind of cheese you like; it's all delicious! I generally serve with a side of sweet potato fries or a fresh bean or pasta salad. Bon Appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Everything works together really well! I made homemade guacamole and spread it on instead of just laying slices of avocado. It was a good little switch and the flavors really popped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I love these. Have been making them over a year now and realized i should rate the recipe!! I make them pretty true as written, but have also done them without the avocado (sometimes i can't get them ripe from the grocery on day of cooking) and sometimes without the onion (i forgot....). Sometimes i use good quality buns, sometimes basic cheap-o burger buns. Tonight, I am frying bacon to go on top and will caramelize the onions in the bacon grease. They are very delicious any way. Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This was a great, easy to prepare chicken burger. I would make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Photo by Mollie Mary Frances
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Excellent chicken burgers! I added extra avacado and I left off the onion and used swiss cheese instead of provolone, because that's what I had on hand. I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie Mary Frances

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
My rating has more to do with my substitution than the recipe itself. USE AVOCADO! I grabbed some avocado spread instead and although it was not bad, this sandwich would have been MUCH better with real avocado. The idea is great and the chicken was too, but sometimes leaving well enough alone is worth the extra time and effort it may take. UPDATE 07/2012: We had this again the other night and made them with avocado slices. I upgraded my rating from 3 stars to 4. It was DEFINITELY worth the small effort it takes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Chicken Burgers

Put a healthy and delicious turn on typical grilled burgers.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

How to Make Barbecue Chicken

Discover a great technique for making perfect barbecue chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States