Summer Bean Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
So good. I'm not a fan of onion (raw) so I left out- still very yummy. I did fresh corn (boiled and cut off with knife) and fresh basil (of course). This is going to be my dish of the summer, for reals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Yum! I used a red onion because that was what I had on hand and boy, did it make the salad look pretty. It does taste better the second day, but I couldn't stop eating it after I mixed in the lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Really healthy and fresh. I used a can of black beans and a can of small white beans and about 1c of leftover steamed edamame. Used 2 ears of leftover corn cut off the cob, and used the zest and juice of a lime with the olive oil. I also used red onion as my onion of choice. Very light and refreshing salad....travels well and did not need to worry about a mayo based salad on a hot day. Will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This is delicious! I used garbanzo beans instead and also added in a bit of crushed red pepper, garlic powder (want to try minced garlic next time) and some goat cheese. It was so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slytheringirl83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Somersworth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Once again out of consideration for Hubs' sensitive innards, I switched celery for the corn. Normally I rate recipes higher than he does but on this occasion that was reversed. He found this a lot more palatable than I did. As for me, I didn't think it all that enhanced from the regular ol' can of beans. Also, I didn't care for the lime juice here and would have preferred lemon. Extra vegetables would have been nice for flavor and interest as well as some seasoning - fresh herbs maybe, garlic salt or fresh garlic. An okay starting point, but that's about it, at least for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
every time I make this, at least 1 person asks for my recipe. It's seriously PERFECT for a hot summer day! And the basil is the best part!! Make sure you use fresh. It just won't work if you don't!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brendenj
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Didn't have light read beans, so I used dark kidney beans. Added a little more corn than called for and a can of "italian" diced tomatoes with some fresh cherry tomatoes. I thought the salad was great. I needed a lot of salt and pepper for my taste and my husband thought the onion was a little too much, but my 11 month old ate it up, my 5 year old picked around the tomatoes, but liked the rest. Great flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Delicious! I was hunting through looking for a recipe to have with lamb chops and this was perfect. I used four bean mix and it was a wonderful side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Very easy and delicious recipe. I substituted red onions, lemon istead of lime (although I would stick with the lime) and cilantro instead of basil because that is what I had on hand and it was yummy. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Delicious! I have been using allrecipes.com for years, and this is only the third recipe I have rated 5 stars. This is unbelievably good considering the simple ingredients. The fresh lime juice and basil are key. I used fresh corn, cherry tomatoes, and basil from my garden. What a wonderful way to use up summer garden bounty. I made it once with fresh chives from my garden instead of onion, and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States