Summa Borscht Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Delicious! It definitely tastes better with stock made from farmer sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kmart321

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
For this recipe to be authentic, it needs farmer sausage (some people use ham). Vegetarians can use liquid smoke or imitation bacon bits, but the smoky flavour is necessary. It also needs sorrel... If you don't have access to sorrel, try using beet greens, and add some lemon juice towards the end of cooking. In my family, we skip adding dairy to the pot, and add buttermilk to our own bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NAOMI333

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morden, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winkler, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I make this soup all the time from a recipe handed down from my mother. I find it much tastier if you cook chunks of farmer sausage in the water first and skim off the fat when it's done. Then I add the potatoes and green onions to the sausage in the skimmed water. When that's cooked, I add a bag of spinach leaves...mmm. Add the dill and salt. Boil til seasoned. Depending on how large a pot your using, add 1-2 cups of sour cream. Boil that together and add 1-2 cups of buttermilk. Truely a tasty soup :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorna S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Neeeds meat; ham or sausage, and sorrel, or what we called on the farm "sour weeds". Then it is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by north8ca
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I make a stock using farmer sausage, then add the potatoes, dill, salt and pepper. The when almost done add green onion tops and sorrel. Finish with sour cream that has had hot broth added to it so it doesnt curdle. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by north8ca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This helped me out as my husbands family makes it but nobody follows a recipe... and I do know that they use beet greens fresh in the summer and spinach in the winter. The best part is the farmers sausage!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrinx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I was really happy to find this recipe, my grandma was also german mennonite but as she has passed on i couldn't get her recipe. This tasted very similar to hers, except as others have added she always used farmer sausage. When i made it I didn't have any on hand so i used fresh bacon bits instead and it still tasted great! I also think it just isn't the same without buttermilk, that is what i believe adds the extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I made a few changes simply due to personal preference and of course due to tradition of how my grandma used to make it. I boiled the potatoes in chicken broth instead of water to add more flavour. I also threw in carrots and onions and raw farmer sausage at the same time and let it boil for 45 minutes. Added lots of dill and then pureed it in the blender as my kids don't like potatoes but will eat it this way. I added half and half cream only. Amazing flavour and my house smelled great. Definitly going to be a staple in my household this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
my family makes it with mennonite farmer sausage (pork) and beet leaves added my grandmother made it with buttermilk, but my mother made it with sourcream I must say i much prefer the sourcream version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilkie, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
My great grandmother made this soup and it is a family favorite. I'm so glad I found this saskatchewan recipe! It is almost the same, but hers starts with browning mennonite or farmer sausage in the pan, then drain the fat but keep the brown bits in the pan for flavor. She used to use fresh greens from her garden (nobody knows exactly what they were!) but I used fresh dill and parsley. She didn't use buttermilk either, just half and half at serving time. This is a delicious, hearty soup. My husband loves it (without half and half). My kids hated it the first time and loved it the second time, can't wait to see how the third time goes tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Easy Chili I

Watch how easy it is to make a hearty chili in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States