Sukhothai Pad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
Well, either the recipie was fixed, or it was read wrong - it says 1/2 cup vinegar. That's also why it says "adjust the pad thai sauce ingredients to taste." A good, tasty, easy recipe, _if you have the ingredients on hand._ If you don't, and don't care about authenticity, there are other, simpler versions that would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
This is a delicious recipe. I made it last week for my boyfriend (first real thai food I've ever attempted) and it was fantastic! If you want to do a vegan version, you can add a bit more tofu and some more peanut and radish and take out the egg. Also, I had some trouble finding tamarind pulp even at the asian grocery store, so if you can't find it try a tablespoon of crushed fresh lime, or even lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
This recipe is just what I wanted for dinner! It tasted great and wasn't ruined by my "use what I have" meathod. I ended up using white wine vinegar, a squeeze of lime where I needed tamarind, thinly sliced sugar snap peas instead of chives, all natural peanut butter instead of crushed peanuts, and less oil (sesame). So I suppose I just used this recipe as a base and got creative. Everything still tasted fabulous and I am looking forward to left overs. Oh, and I added thinly sliced red pepper and shrimp instead of tofu. A keeper for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
I add tewo tablespoons of Fish Sauce and a little Chili Pepper and it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
This is really good. It has the authentic flavors of a Southeast Asian dish. I scaled this recipe down to 2 servings and used about 1/2 tsp of tamarind concentrate (purchased from ethnicgrocer.com). I omitted the radish; wasn't sure what that was. Personally, I wouldn't put 2 cups of vinegar in any dish. This is a noodle recipe, not a pickle recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
This was the first Thai dish that I have ever made that came even close to tasting authentic. I used tamarind concentrate that I found at an asian market. I couldn't find any ground oriental radish (daikon) so I used 1 1/2 tsp of Thai seasoning (from the grocery store) instead. I used a pound of tofu and omitted the eggs and used turbinado sugar to vegan-ize this recipe. Even with all of the substitutions, the dish turned out very well. It was even great the next day for lunch! ** NOTE: I've found that cooking the noodles according to package directions, and then adding the cooked noodles to the pan works best. Next time, I think I'll add some mushrooms, broccoli and carrots just to give it a bit more flavor and texture (without eggs it lacks some variety). I highly recommend this easy and versatile recipe! Be sure to use a BIG wok or skillet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oxford, Oxfordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
I was suprised by the authentic flavor of this dish. I substituted rice vinegar for the white vinegar, and next time I will use sesame oil instead of vegetable oil. Overall my husband and I were very impressed. I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
Wow! I must admit I was skeptical when I tasted the sauce before adding it to the noodles. I figured my boyfriend would be stuck with eating all of the the dish because it would have too much of that vinegar flavor. It actually turned out very well once it was added though, almost like something from a restaurant. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Natchez, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
this is the best phad thai recipe I've ever come across. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
Very, very good! I couldn't find tamarind pulp in the ethnic grocery or in the supermarket, but it came out awesome anyway. My husband loved it and can't wait to have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Pad Thai

See how to make a great pad thai at home.

Thai Bison Salad

Learn how to make a fresh, healthy Thai salad with grilled low-fat bison steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States