Sukhothai Pad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Sooo authentic! I made mine with shrimp. Took another reviews advice and made sauce with lime juice instead of vinegar, fish sauce instead of soy sauce. I used red pepper flakes instead of chili powder and green onion instead of chives. I also added cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
With Bes' changes this is a 5-star recipe. Tastes just like the real thing. I suggest using Golden Boy fish sauce, which you can find at an Asian grocery store. Most regular grocery stores won't carry it and it's the most authentic Thai fish sauces out there. There was too much sauce, which I had to drain off and added some cornstarch to reduce to a glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Substituted fish oil for soy sauce, used peanut oil, and substituted vinegar with 2 tbsp lime juice. Would probably use less lime and a little more salt. Otherwise turned out pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Very tasty! I'm not sure how authentic it is, but it certainly pleased me and my husband! I did do some trading with the spices as a few people suggested - I didn't add the additional sugar at the end, and I used some 'Thai seasoning' and chili powder instead of the oriental radish. I also substituted lime juice for the tamarind pulp because our grocery store had none. Definitely a dish we'll serve again and keep trying some different flavor combinations just for fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Pad Thai is one of my favorite dishes so I'm venturing out with new recipes. My fiance liked this one better than the one I have been using but I would probably cut down on the vinegar or add more sugar. Ours was pretty tangy (which he liked but I didn't so much). I also didn't have so many noodles so my batch had a LOT of sauce. I had to cook it a little longer just to cook out some of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I just tried this tonight and I was so excited about making it because pad thai is one of my favorites but I think I used way way too much rice vinegar. Maybe I will totally omit that because it was bitter tasting. I used the fish sauce instead of soy & lime juice instead of tamarind but it was very bitter - I really I messed this up because I've seen such gret reviews and I followed alot of the common changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I used a lot less vinegar then is recommended, but other than that I stay with the recipe as stated. I always get request for this meal, especially from my mother. One of her Thai friend even asked for the recipe stating it is the closest to what she have that remind her of her homeland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Velros4u

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I just wasn't super impressed with this! It seemed like there wasn't enough flavor... made for a really "meh" kind of dish.. maybe next time I'll double the sauce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 767

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
The recipe was very good, but I feel it could have been made better with the addition of more garlic chili paste, more lime, and a dash of fish sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I add a little more tamarind to my sauce and a bit of chili powder for a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Pad Thai

See how to make a great pad thai at home.

Thai Bison Salad

Learn how to make a fresh, healthy Thai salad with grilled low-fat bison steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States