Sukhothai Pad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Oh this was fantastic! Though I made a few adjustments. The sauce in the recipe was WAY too strong! I also only used 8 oz of noodles as that is what comes in the package I buy, so I halved the sauce recipe, added shrimp with the tofu and upped the Garlic to 1 tablespoon. Oh and used Chili Powder instead of paprika. After those adjustments it was better than our local Thai restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Excellent. Pad Thai is my favorite main dish, and I've never found a great recipe that I can make at home. This was it! I made a few changes -- I didn't have tamarind, so that was left out (though I plan to buy it and try it with), I added 2 tablespoons of fish sauce and a little less soy sauce, and I didn't have the oriental radish, so that was left out. We like things very spicy, so I added cayenne pepper and ground red pepper flakes. I used green onions because I like them better than chives in this kind of thing. For garnish, I topped with shredded carrots in addition to the bean sprouts. On mine, I also added chopped cilantro, though my husband left that out because he's not a fan. This was VERY authentic and delicious. My only gripe is that I didn't make more because we all ate every bit, and I would have loved to have had it for lunch the next day. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Only rating this 4 stars because it needs work. That said, it's the closest thing I've found to the real deal online. Here's what you need to do to make this authentic: sub fish sauce for soy sauce (however, throw in a little soy sauce with the egg & tofu for color), sub lime juice for vinegar, MUST use tamarind pulp (if you can't find, you might be able to find tamarind chutney which will work just fine), use canola or peanut oil, add extra garlic, use extra firm tofu (water completely squeezed out), use unsalted dry-roasted peanuts and only use half of what is called for here -- that was way too much, skip the radish if you can't find it, add 1/4 cup chopped greed onions with the chives, sub chili powder for the paprika, and add dried red pepper flakes for heat. It's really, really easy to make and you will honestly think it's on par with your favorite local Thai joint. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This was a great recipe, only thing to note though is that I'm rating this as a 5 based on Bes' comments about swapping in the fish sauce for soy sauce and the addition of the shrimp paste really made the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
We liked this a lot...I was unable to find the radishes, so we just left those off...everything else we did according to the recipe. My daughter, who eats Thai food a lot in her college town, said it was almost as good as her favorite Pad Thai there. I'm making it again this week...thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
We enjoyed this. Used tofu and shrimp both. Substituted fish sauce for the soy and added some cilantro. Will make again for sure. Couldn't find the radish but it was still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Yum... I used a LOT of veggies for the stirfry.. lots of ginger... half the sugar... very good!!! Have all ur veggies cut up before you begin cooking.. lol..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
no complaints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I have made this recipes several times now. I use the mods from the comments (lime juice instead of vinegar, fish sauce instead of soy) and add chicken. It is BETTER than the local thai restaurants that have that ketchupy weird pad thai that I don't like. My husband has been requesting this on a weekly basis now. It will be a staple recipe in my cooking from here on out. Thanks for such a yummy and authentic tasting pad thai!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snuffywump

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
amazing recipe. This was our first time using rice noodles though. Maybe we bought the wrong one but it was hard to know when they were "soft" in the cold water and we had to try to rescue them later on when discovering they were way too hard. Didn't use the pickles and the paprika seemed a little unnecessary but otherwise fantastic recipe! surprisingly easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Pad Thai

See how to make a great pad thai at home.

Thai Bison Salad

Learn how to make a fresh, healthy Thai salad with grilled low-fat bison steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States