Sukhothai Pad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
MAKE SURE TO ADD 12OZ OF NOODLES
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Even though I did modify this due to ingredients on hand, I think it was a great base recipe. I didn't have radish, chives, or tamarind unfortunately. I added some peanut butter to the sauce. This has a very light flavor that I really enjoyed. I will try with shrimp next time. 11/28 EDIT: I've been subbing half the white vinegar with rice vinegar and half the vegetable oil with sesame oil, it make the flavor even better. Also, I've been frying the tofu in large strips in some sesame oil before dicing and adding to the wok - it helps the tofu cook more evenly. I've added chopped cilantro at the end which is amazing too. Love this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jwilke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Descolada
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I have tried this with and without vinegar and I'd have to say I like it much better without it. Sometimes I replace the rice noodles with soba noodles and boil those 3 minutes with shredded cabbage instead of tofu for more crunch. Dark brown sugar instead of white works better too for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Descolada

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This was a good pad thai recipe however not particularly authentic in taste. I found my pad thai to be very 'light' in taste and didn't have the depth of flavours that I am used to when eating pad thai from authentic thai restaurants. Nice but don't know if i will use this recipe again. BTW, definitely use fish sauce and tamarind is a MUST to reach some sort of authentic pad thai taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This was super good and really easy to make, but woah! Talk about sugar high!! We all thought this was waaaaayyy too sweet!! I tried adding some extra soy sauce, but that didn't help much. Next time I will most definitely cut the sugar in half, or even less than half. Like some other people, I subbed shrimp for the tofu. I also changed the cooking method a little bit. I scrambled the egg and garlic together, then removed from the pan and set them aside. I added a little more oil, then cooked the shrimp separately until just barely done, and transferred them to another dish and set them aside. I then threw the noodles and sauce into the pan, and added the shrimp and eggs, and the scallions. I don't like my eggs adhering to everything else, so I liked this method better. I also added some cilantro as a garnish. To me, Pad Thai just isn't the same without it! I will most definitely be making this again, but am scaling the sugar back a LOT next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondjoy2807

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Needs more sauce. Paprika is not very zippy. Recommend zip lovers add more chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I have been looking for a good Pad Thai recipe for a long time and I have finally found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bath, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I didn't soak the noodles long enough, next time I will use half boiling water, half warm water and let it sit longer. Replaced tamarind sauce with hoisin. Will try again next time with softer noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
The sauce is not correct to my taste, but it is a good place to start. It's too potent of a sweet/sour sauce so I leave some of the vinegar out and add water or stock to thin it out a bit. Taste it before you pour it into the wok and make adjustments if necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Pad Thai

See how to make a great pad thai at home.

Thai Bison Salad

Learn how to make a fresh, healthy Thai salad with grilled low-fat bison steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States