Sukhothai Pad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mrdthbtlr
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Perfect! First, I only made 1/2 the sauce and it was plenty for one package of noodles-but I guess extra couldn't hurt. I just suggest not dumping whole amount in, add to taste. Followed Bes's review suggestions- so glad I did. Palm sugar, fish sauce, peanut oil, etc made for an incredibly rich flavor! I did use rice wine vinegar for white vinegar though. And squeezed lime over at the end instead of subbing it for the vin. And I used bright red ground red pimento pepper I get at the Asian market. It has virtually no heat and the brilliant red color you want for the sauce- which seams to be missing in photos on here. You can add srirachi or jalepeno to dial up the heat as desired. I used fresh rice noodles and they were delightfully chewy- better than dried. I also used hot pepper-pickled radish. It really added something special! Aside from onion and radish I suggest tossing fresh veg with the hot noodles at the end- that way the veg stays Slightly crunchy. It was perfect. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Love this with modifications. First, I halve the tamarind pulp and halve the vinegar (and use rice vinegar). Second, I do not boil the sauce at this point. Third, I deep fry my tofu in small cubes after tossing it in salt and cornstarch. When it is time to cook the pad thai, I saute the garlic in oil, then add the scrambled eggs. Once cooked, I remove from pan to chop. Now I add the sauce to pan and thicken it. I do not add the extra salt or sugar. I then add the cooked tofu to get it saucy, then the cooked noodles. When it is nice and thick, with very little liquid left, I add my chopped peanuts and eggs and heat through. I add the chives at this time as well, if I have any. Sprouts to individual bowls. No paprika, no radish, and no lime wedges. Repeat as necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes
Photo by Kasuni Silva
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Recipe is fab. I reduced sugar in the sauce by half. Also added more red Chillie peppers and yellow & red bell peppers to give it more flavor and crunch! It's a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Huge hit, loved the receipt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I followed the recipe as is except I forgot to add the paprika, plus I couldn't get my hands on ground peanuts or oriental radish. All in all it was a good recipe. Although from reading other reviews regarding authenticity, I still liked it. Now I know the trick to avoiding overly stir-fried noodles: soaking them in water first. (I'm a novice trekking my way to expert cook!) My husband looooved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Delicious! Very forgiving, easy recipe. For the sauce, I mixed sugar, vinegar, and hoisin sauce. It tasted gorgeous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I have never been less than amazed by this recipe. People love it every time I make it for them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessecunger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Excellent with the changes that were suggested - fish sauce, no vinegar, soy sauce with the tofu and noodles. Couldn't find tamarind, but subbed lime juice. Couldn't find pickled radish, but used 1 tsp. chili powder. Didn't add the sugar and salt at the end - didn't need it with the extra soy sauce. Also I fried the tofu in LOTS of soy sauce and the oil, then pulled it out with a slotted spoon and added it to the noodles. I doubled the tofu since I don't do egg and don't like bean sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Tastes amazing. I made this recipe following Bes's Apr. 28, 2006 recommendations. I also cooked this with chicken instead of tofu - I marinated thinly sliced chicken breast with 1 tsp light soy sauce, 1 tsp dark soy sauce, pinch of salt, 1/2 tsp sugar, 1 tsp corn starch and stir fried it before adding it to the eggs as in part 2 of the instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Pomona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Came out pretty dry, so I would double the sauce next time, and add some red thai chiles or more red pepper flakes to give it some heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Pad Thai

See how to make a great pad thai at home.

Thai Bison Salad

Learn how to make a fresh, healthy Thai salad with grilled low-fat bison steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States