Sugo Rosso (Red Sauce) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Truly love this fresh, delicious sauce served over any pasta. Family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Very nice sauce, classic summertime flavors. fresh basil really makes the dish. I increased the garlic (b/c I can't get enough of it), and next time I might add a pinch of red pepper flakes for a little kick at the end. However, it is delicious just as written. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This is one of my favourite ways to make tomato sauce. I love the fresh taste of the tomatoes that you don't get from the canned pureed tomato sauce. The only thing I recommend to get the most out of flavour is to use ripened tomatoes. Yesterday I made this sauce with under ripened tomatoes (still pink with some green) and it tasted only okay. The sauce was pink when I pureed it, but as it cooked it turned into more of a reddish colour. Next time you feel like making this recipe, make sure to use ripened tomatoes and save your under ripened tomatoes for a yummy salad. One final note, I like to also deseed the tomatoes before pureeing or pass them through a sieve after pureed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Good, frezzes well, but needs a little something extra. Whenever I thaw some out I add a little extra fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan Jean Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Nebraska City, Nebraska, USA
Photo by SMClanton
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
so good and fresh tasting. i did add a couple tablespoons of tomato paste to thicken it a little.. other than that i stuck to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMClanton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Delicious! Very easy. Followed recipe exactly. Fresh and light. Will make every summer when I have an over abundance of ripened tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Fast and Easy and extremely Tasty!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This is a great recipe! I have a ton of heirloom tomatoes from my garden so I used a lot more than the recipe required. I didn't boil the tomatoes because the skins peeled off easily. It took me about 30 minutes to cook it down to a consistency I liked. I also added much more basil because I had extra in the refrigerator, and a dash of garlic salt. Delicious! I'm licking the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
WOW! The flavors are so fresh and yummy. This is my new favorite. I want to make it every week this summer. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Proper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Delicious and easy, but I think I'll try canned tomatoes next time, as another reviewer did. The only advice I would give is to add another tomato in order to make enough for two large servings of pasta. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States