Sugo Rosso (Red Sauce) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Truly love this fresh, delicious sauce served over any pasta. Family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Very nice sauce, classic summertime flavors. fresh basil really makes the dish. I increased the garlic (b/c I can't get enough of it), and next time I might add a pinch of red pepper flakes for a little kick at the end. However, it is delicious just as written. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This is one of my favourite ways to make tomato sauce. I love the fresh taste of the tomatoes that you don't get from the canned pureed tomato sauce. The only thing I recommend to get the most out of flavour is to use ripened tomatoes. Yesterday I made this sauce with under ripened tomatoes (still pink with some green) and it tasted only okay. The sauce was pink when I pureed it, but as it cooked it turned into more of a reddish colour. Next time you feel like making this recipe, make sure to use ripened tomatoes and save your under ripened tomatoes for a yummy salad. One final note, I like to also deseed the tomatoes before pureeing or pass them through a sieve after pureed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Good, frezzes well, but needs a little something extra. Whenever I thaw some out I add a little extra fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan Jean Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Nebraska City, Nebraska, USA
Photo by la belle vie
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
so good and fresh tasting. i did add a couple tablespoons of tomato paste to thicken it a little.. other than that i stuck to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by la belle vie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Delicious! Very easy. Followed recipe exactly. Fresh and light. Will make every summer when I have an over abundance of ripened tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Fast and Easy and extremely Tasty!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This is a great recipe! I have a ton of heirloom tomatoes from my garden so I used a lot more than the recipe required. I didn't boil the tomatoes because the skins peeled off easily. It took me about 30 minutes to cook it down to a consistency I liked. I also added much more basil because I had extra in the refrigerator, and a dash of garlic salt. Delicious! I'm licking the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
WOW! The flavors are so fresh and yummy. This is my new favorite. I want to make it every week this summer. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Delicious and easy, but I think I'll try canned tomatoes next time, as another reviewer did. The only advice I would give is to add another tomato in order to make enough for two large servings of pasta. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States