Sugarless Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
You can't call it sugarless because all the fruit and orange juice is loaded with sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
It was too mushy for my families taste buds. I can't imagine using a 20 oz can of pineapple in this as one reviewer did, I used a 15 oz and it was way to much liquid! I didn’t like the "mushy" consistency and you really couldn’t cut it in nice slices. I had to spoon it. It was not a nice presentation. I guess if you are diabetic, it would give you a taste of fruitcake if you like fruitcake but if you are not diabetic, it is terrible, both in taste and presentation. Not a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Came out delicious! I'm always looking for a healthy alternative to dessert and this was fantastic. Plus it's completely vegetarian friendly. I used just what I had available in the house. I substituted California raisins for the cranberries, used splenda packets, and left out the coconut flakes. So delicious and guilt free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasharenae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Very good. Dense and delicious, plenty sweet just as written. Thanks! I didn't soak the berries for an hour, just as I prepped the other ingredients and that worked just fine. Like others, I had to bake mine for longer, but that is to be expected as oven temps vary and it is quite moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
My husband is a diabetic and this was a wonderful treat for him, since he always missed fruitcake. I was unsure how this would turn out, but it is amazing! I couldn't find a single change that would improve this recipe. This recipe is a new Christmas keepsake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Wow, I am so pleasantly surprised how great this tastes! I used 1/2 tsp of nutmeg instead of mace and then used a whole 20oz crushed pineapple. Followed the rest of the ingredients on the recipe. I did bake it for an extra 15 min for a total of 55 and my picky husband said it was one of the best fruitcakes he's ever had! Thank you, thank you since I've been searching for a great recipe for Fruitcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
The whole time I was making this I was thinking that it wouldn't taste sweet & that it wouldn't stay together, but it is sweet & it stayed together nicely. Tastes good! Kind of a lot of work but, quite yummy. I made 4 small loaves instead of one large one & reduced the cooking time to 25 minutes. I think they could've used 5 more mins or so...but quite tasty! Wonder how these would do shaped into bars like granola bars?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiverRyder83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakboro, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KJones
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
This was really, really good. Made for my diabetic dad for Father's Day. Make sure you use canned crushed pineapple in juice-- and include the juice with the measurements. I actually added a little extra as well. I used craisins instead of fresh cranberries and used half whole wheat flour. Very tasty and flavorful. This is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This was a hit at Christmas. the only difference I had from the original recipe was the baking time. I had to bake my cake for 50-55 minutes. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimaneye67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I'm not a fruitcake eater, but my mother is and she loves this! Se said it rials Klaxton's (sp?) fruitcake. I've made this for my grandmother who is diabetic but loves fruitcake. The only thing I did differently was I used only 1 up of choppe walnuts. Very moist and smells terrific! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

PHILADELPHIA 'Fruit Smoothie' Cheesecake

See how to make a scrumptious, berry-filled, no-bake cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States