Sugarless Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2000
I love fruitcake and my husband and I are on diets. So when I saw this recipe I was excited. It is not the FAT kind but its a good substitute. Thanks....Diana Mastri
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
I made this fruitcake for my dad. He loves fruitcake and hadn't had one in years, due to his diabetes. I left out the coconut, because he doesn't like it. He absolutely LOVED this cake! He is the type of person who never asks for anything for himself - but he's already put in his request for more of this fruitcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
I made this as a healthy recipe for a family gathering and everyone enjoyed it quite a bit. However the first time I made it, it came out slightly dry so I doubled the amount of pineapple the second time and reduced mace to at least half. Also, I used whole wheat flour and my little cousin who is a year old had a blast eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
This recipe is AWESOME!! I make it on a regular basis and take it to church for our older folks who are diabetic. They LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I'm not a fruitcake eater, but my mother is and she loves this! Se said it rials Klaxton's (sp?) fruitcake. I've made this for my grandmother who is diabetic but loves fruitcake. The only thing I did differently was I used only 1 up of choppe walnuts. Very moist and smells terrific! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This was a hit at Christmas. the only difference I had from the original recipe was the baking time. I had to bake my cake for 50-55 minutes. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimaneye67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KJones
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
This was really, really good. Made for my diabetic dad for Father's Day. Make sure you use canned crushed pineapple in juice-- and include the juice with the measurements. I actually added a little extra as well. I used craisins instead of fresh cranberries and used half whole wheat flour. Very tasty and flavorful. This is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
The whole time I was making this I was thinking that it wouldn't taste sweet & that it wouldn't stay together, but it is sweet & it stayed together nicely. Tastes good! Kind of a lot of work but, quite yummy. I made 4 small loaves instead of one large one & reduced the cooking time to 25 minutes. I think they could've used 5 more mins or so...but quite tasty! Wonder how these would do shaped into bars like granola bars?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiverRyder83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakboro, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Wow, I am so pleasantly surprised how great this tastes! I used 1/2 tsp of nutmeg instead of mace and then used a whole 20oz crushed pineapple. Followed the rest of the ingredients on the recipe. I did bake it for an extra 15 min for a total of 55 and my picky husband said it was one of the best fruitcakes he's ever had! Thank you, thank you since I've been searching for a great recipe for Fruitcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
My husband is a diabetic and this was a wonderful treat for him, since he always missed fruitcake. I was unsure how this would turn out, but it is amazing! I couldn't find a single change that would improve this recipe. This recipe is a new Christmas keepsake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States