Sugarless Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
As others have said, not the recipe you are looking for if you want to replicate store bought or grandma's cookies, but definitely what my husband and I were looking for. The dough was a little thin for me, so I added more oatmeal. I also added craisins, substituted the baking soda for baking powder as it has less sodium and added some honey for a little sweetness. The result was a wonderful, cake like snack that my husband and I can take to work or have after dinner. Next time I think I will double the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I read all the prior reviews before deciding to try this recipe. My husband is diabetic and these turned out GREAT -- He loved them! People who don't like this recipe may not be used to home-baked sugarless goodies. They are not designed to be very "sweet". I doubled all the spices, added 4 "Splenda" packets (I didn't have honey), and 1/2 tsp salt. The dough is thin, but firms up a little upon standing -- the oatmeal soaks up some of the excess moisture. No, this isn't a crunchy cookie. I flattened out my spoonfuls for a cookie shape. Baked about 8-10 minutes, then let them cool. My result was a nice soft, chewy cookie. And a healthy treat for my husband's lunch box. If you are trying to duplicate a sugar free "store bought" cookie, or get a result like Mom's, this isn't it. I'll keep making these healthy snacks every week!! Try a cookie sandwich with a small amount of peanut butter in the middle!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I've been trying to get away from sugar and thought this recipe would satisfy my craving for cookies. I made a few changes: used twice the amount of cinnamon and also kicked up the nutmeg and cloves. Didn't have walnuts on hand but did add about 1 cup chopped up prunes along with the cup of raisins. I used cinnamon applesauce and margarine instead of the oil. Because someone said they are not really sweet, I added 1 T honey for good measure. The batter was thin so I decided to bake them like I would brownies, in a cookie sheet (for about 20 minutes). The aroma that came from the oven was heavenly. They fit the bill for what I was wanting. Best thing about this recipe is you can add whatever suits your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This recipe needs SALT! It would be pretty good if the author had remembered to add salt. I didn't notice the omission until I tried the first one out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I love these "cookies" but I also don't consider them cookies I think of them more as biscuits. I also add a lot more stuff too them, like more dried fruits and nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veedubgrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I pureed the applesauce with the raisins cuz I don't like to bite into raisins myself...but it came out a great, soft, cakey texture, shaped like a cookie. Greasing the sheet was a good idea, and it wouldn't hurt to add more spices to it as another rater said. I also substituted flax meal for the walnuts and it came out great. Initially they are not terribly sweet, but they leave such a pleasantly sweet aftertaste, I wanted to go back and get more and more. Great option for folks with sugar, milk (and if you substitute the flax seed) nut allergies. Even using whole wheat flour, these came out soft and edible :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Yum! Verry healthy, verrry tasty. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
With the addition of 1/2 cup of marachino cherries(cut up)and using vegetable spray on the pans, I had the cookie I have been looking since my grandmother passed away. That is a good many years ago and I am now a grandmother. This is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This cookie was more like a cookie shaped muffin. I did add more of the spices than the recipe called for. If I bake them again, I will add artificial sweetener, hoping to give them more "cookie" like taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
These have the perfect texture but I added 4 packets of splenda and I still think it needed more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States