Sugarless Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
I could not find dates without added sugar so I substituted currants. I also added three cinnamon sticks to the bubbling fruit and butter and also a splash of brandy, I added two teaspoons pumpkin pie spice and toasted my walnuts before adding them to the batter. These came out so good! I kept them in the fridge overnight and they were even better, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakergrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Wonderful recipe. I haven't made any changes to the recipe. My nieces love these bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This is a great recipe. I made a few changes, dried apricots instead of prunes, used 1/2 whole wheat pastry flour and 1/2 unbleached flour and added unsweetened carob chips (my son loves these, if your not used to carob chips don't add them, they do have a strong taste). I also added the spices and used 1/2 OJ and 1/2 water. They smelled great baking and even my husband ate up several before they cooled. I only bake without refined sweeteners of any kind (artificial included) and this will be a frequently used recipe at my house, you can easily vary it by using different fruits etc! Even the neighbors kids ate up a couple bars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
To reduce the fat you can substitute 1/3 cup of applesauce for three to four tablespoons of the butter. I used real butter since I as using less to add more flavor. I substituted dried cranberries for the prunes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
i made this recipe as muffins (it didn't make a whole dozen) and my parents raved about them, they loved that they were full of fruit and fiber. they had a surprisingly dense and moist texture, which was great. i guess my cravings for a junkier treat got the best of me, but overall this recipe is wonderful since it doesn't use sugar in addition to the fruits' sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
These were moist and delicious, I added a jumble of dried fruit bits instead of dates and prunes(not a big fan) and they were still lovely, also boiled the fruits in oj/water mix to slightly sweeten the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
these are great, not too sweet,i made them as written, my husband who has a a sweet tooth really liked these, of course i didn't tell him that they were sugarless! i would like to try them next time without the prunes and doubling the dates
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
I've tried so many sugarless recipes but this is by far the best! Tastes so much better than those packaged "healthy" breakfast muffins/bars and it's by far better for you! I added orange juice instead of water, used butter but cut it in half, threw in some nutmeg and cinnamon, and cut the white flour with whole-wheat, ground flax seed, and wheat germ. The resulting bars were SO flavorful, moist, chewy, and possibly a little too sweet! Next time I will only replace 1/2c water with orange juice and add less dates, and I might replace most of the fat with applesauce. This is for sure worth a try if you're looking for a healthy sweet snack without the refined sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
I loved These ! I made them in the beggining for my moms husband whos diabetic, but I ended up eating them !They are so satisfying if you want somthing sweet ! And at least its healthy. I actually loved them SO much I was eating them for lunch and breakfast unintentionally and I LOST weight ! Thanx for the recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
I was asked to make sugar free goodies for Grandparent's Day @ school -- these were OK. I mean nothing compared to a real brownie or anything, but tasted like a nice sweet coffee cake. I drizzled some sugar free cream cheese frosting over them to add some appeal. I only had dried cranberries (Craisens) and raisens, so just made sure I put 1 1/2 cups total fruit in them. Like another reviewer stated though - be aware that all that fruit counts for some sugar in diabetic exchanges. But, not a bad coffee cake-like recipe for special diets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States