Sugarless Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
I could not find dates without added sugar so I substituted currants. I also added three cinnamon sticks to the bubbling fruit and butter and also a splash of brandy, I added two teaspoons pumpkin pie spice and toasted my walnuts before adding them to the batter. These came out so good! I kept them in the fridge overnight and they were even better, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakergrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Wonderful recipe. I haven't made any changes to the recipe. My nieces love these bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This is a great recipe. I made a few changes, dried apricots instead of prunes, used 1/2 whole wheat pastry flour and 1/2 unbleached flour and added unsweetened carob chips (my son loves these, if your not used to carob chips don't add them, they do have a strong taste). I also added the spices and used 1/2 OJ and 1/2 water. They smelled great baking and even my husband ate up several before they cooled. I only bake without refined sweeteners of any kind (artificial included) and this will be a frequently used recipe at my house, you can easily vary it by using different fruits etc! Even the neighbors kids ate up a couple bars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
To reduce the fat you can substitute 1/3 cup of applesauce for three to four tablespoons of the butter. I used real butter since I as using less to add more flavor. I substituted dried cranberries for the prunes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
i made this recipe as muffins (it didn't make a whole dozen) and my parents raved about them, they loved that they were full of fruit and fiber. they had a surprisingly dense and moist texture, which was great. i guess my cravings for a junkier treat got the best of me, but overall this recipe is wonderful since it doesn't use sugar in addition to the fruits' sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
These were moist and delicious, I added a jumble of dried fruit bits instead of dates and prunes(not a big fan) and they were still lovely, also boiled the fruits in oj/water mix to slightly sweeten the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
these are great, not too sweet,i made them as written, my husband who has a a sweet tooth really liked these, of course i didn't tell him that they were sugarless! i would like to try them next time without the prunes and doubling the dates
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lois Chaput

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
I've tried so many sugarless recipes but this is by far the best! Tastes so much better than those packaged "healthy" breakfast muffins/bars and it's by far better for you! I added orange juice instead of water, used butter but cut it in half, threw in some nutmeg and cinnamon, and cut the white flour with whole-wheat, ground flax seed, and wheat germ. The resulting bars were SO flavorful, moist, chewy, and possibly a little too sweet! Next time I will only replace 1/2c water with orange juice and add less dates, and I might replace most of the fat with applesauce. This is for sure worth a try if you're looking for a healthy sweet snack without the refined sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
I loved These ! I made them in the beggining for my moms husband whos diabetic, but I ended up eating them !They are so satisfying if you want somthing sweet ! And at least its healthy. I actually loved them SO much I was eating them for lunch and breakfast unintentionally and I LOST weight ! Thanx for the recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
I was asked to make sugar free goodies for Grandparent's Day @ school -- these were OK. I mean nothing compared to a real brownie or anything, but tasted like a nice sweet coffee cake. I drizzled some sugar free cream cheese frosting over them to add some appeal. I only had dried cranberries (Craisens) and raisens, so just made sure I put 1 1/2 cups total fruit in them. Like another reviewer stated though - be aware that all that fruit counts for some sugar in diabetic exchanges. But, not a bad coffee cake-like recipe for special diets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States