Sugarless Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Very good taste, but not suitable for diabetics. As the fruit is very high in natural sugar. An alternative would be to rinse the dates and prunes of the syrup they are coated in when bought, and then add them to the recipe, but I only ate one small piece being diabetic and it rose my blood sugars alarmingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arkport, New York, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
It is the very best. If you love the ingredients? You will love this recipe.I've known about this recipe fpr only one wk. and have made it 4 times already.I take it to my husbands nursing home and the staff just loves it, especially the ones with dieabeties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
It is worth mentioning that these, like most "sugar free" recipes are NOT sugar free. The dried fruits contain plenty of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I made these with dried cherries and dates. They were very good and were satisfying when I wanted something sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
My friends said this tasted much like the jewish honey cake their mothers baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pjohns23

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
As I was using these bars to help out my 3-yr-old's "system," I wanted to make them appealing as possible. So, I added some seasoning with 1 t cinnamon, 1/2 t each of cloves and nutmeg. I replaced 1/2 the butter with applesauce, and then an additional 1/2 c applesauce for more flavor. To account for that added moisture I dumped in 1/2 c flax.... another digestive helper! My son GOBBLED THESE DOWN! I told him it was cake and he thought they were simply delicious! Oh, rather than a 7x11, I baked these in a 9x9 and that worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I made these for my mother in law and she loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellydancer
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
These are good. You can definitely tell there is no added sugars, so if you want something sweet, this is not the recipe for you. They turn out like a snack cake, and are very moist, especially after sitting over night. I used unsweetened applesauce for half of the butter. I would probably make these again when I want a healthier snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This is the BEST recipe ever! Great tasting and quality ingredients. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Herkimer, New York, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This was a great Lenten "non-dessert" for those abstaining from sweets! The flavor was very good, and the texture was great, too. I might add more nuts next time, but it was good as written. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annanthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States