Sugarless Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
It is worth mentioning that these, like most "sugar free" recipes are NOT sugar free. The dried fruits contain plenty of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I made these with dried cherries and dates. They were very good and were satisfying when I wanted something sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
My friends said this tasted much like the jewish honey cake their mothers baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pjohns23

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
As I was using these bars to help out my 3-yr-old's "system," I wanted to make them appealing as possible. So, I added some seasoning with 1 t cinnamon, 1/2 t each of cloves and nutmeg. I replaced 1/2 the butter with applesauce, and then an additional 1/2 c applesauce for more flavor. To account for that added moisture I dumped in 1/2 c flax.... another digestive helper! My son GOBBLED THESE DOWN! I told him it was cake and he thought they were simply delicious! Oh, rather than a 7x11, I baked these in a 9x9 and that worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I made these for my mother in law and she loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellydancer
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
These are good. You can definitely tell there is no added sugars, so if you want something sweet, this is not the recipe for you. They turn out like a snack cake, and are very moist, especially after sitting over night. I used unsweetened applesauce for half of the butter. I would probably make these again when I want a healthier snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This is the BEST recipe ever! Great tasting and quality ingredients. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Herkimer, New York, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This was a great Lenten "non-dessert" for those abstaining from sweets! The flavor was very good, and the texture was great, too. I might add more nuts next time, but it was good as written. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annanthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meg A.
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
For what they are, they were really great! Made them for a sugar intolerant grandpa for the holidays. They aren't much for the eye though - they actually look like they have chocolate in them! I will prolly make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I'd have given 20 stars if they'd allowed it! This is excellent on many levels, most importantly that it is naturally sweetened (And yes, best with wheat flour & ground flax). I was intending to photograph, because this entry needs to be honored with a picture, but haven't gotten there yet. But this recipe is a keeper to pass down through generations because of its health benefits and great taste. By the way, we used all dates because that's what we had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States