Sugarless Banana Walnut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Made this for my father-in-law's birthday cake. He prefers things not-so-sweet, always scrapes frosting off cakes, and only has a sliver of anything. To complement the not-too-sweet cake, I made a banana frosting using 1/2 of a banana, 4 tbsp. each of butter and cream cheese, and about 2 cups of confectioners sugar. The frosting really accentuated the banana in the cake, and he ate a big piece of the whole thing, frosting and all...then went back for seconds. He and my mother-in-law also kept the rest of the cake for themselves, something that has never, ever happened. I think I found a winner for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I really liked it. I wasn't anticipating a sweet tast, but I was surprised that it was just sweet enough. I did add coconut, because we like it, not that the cake needed it. My banana's were almost all black and so they made the cake great. I made it a second time and I added crushed strawberries. This is a good recipe that you can have as is or add some other berries. Nice job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Antha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This "cake" is not sweet at all. The recipe as it is written here is really for health-food lovers who don't expect more than a hint of sweetness. I personally liked it (even used half whole wheat flour), because I was looking for something healthy, not expecting a treat. I do suggest fancying it up with other ingredients, such as adding coconut flakes, frozen blueberries, raisins, chopped dates, extra banana, chocolate chips, spread some honey on top, or whatever you like most. If you like baked goods that taste "healthy" and aren't expecting a real dessert, you would probably be satisfied. If you want something healthy to satisfy your sweet tooth, you'll need to add something more to this to sweeten it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Made this for baby's first bday. To other reviewers who claim it is not sweet enough...make sure your bananas are VERY ripe! This will sweeten it up. Also, I made a banana glaze to put on top and this added some extra yum. Like others, we used blueberries instead of nuts. A big hit in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort Gordon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
much better with blueberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pinon Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I was looking for something I could make to use the very ripe bananas on my counter that my 14 year old diabetic son could eat. After reading this recipe and the reviews, I decided to try adding some splenda to the recipe. It was still not nearly sweet enough. We then sprinkled the top with a generous spoonful of his splenda/cinnamon blend (that he makes for his toast) and added a tablespoon of Cool Whip (Cool Whip is surprisingly low in sugar). That was exactly what it needed! All the kids ended up eating it. (I put regular cinnamon sugar on for the non-diabetic children.) I would recommend eating it warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brackenridge, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Very good! I made these into muffins I gave up sugar for lent and this totally hit the spot. I used two whole bananas and added a teaspoon of vanilla. I also subbed blueberries for the nuts. I would absolutely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Swigart Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Not bad for sugarless cake! Using grape seed oil instead of butter and switching all purpose flour to wheat pastry flour will make it a healthier treat. Increase bananas to 1 cup and make sure that they are extremely ripe in order to get enough sweet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamamia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I baked it as muffins and everyone liked them. I increased the banana to 1 cup and substituted milk for the water. I omitted the walnuts. I added 1 tsp. vanilla and 1/4 c. Splenda. The texture and flavor were good but it stuck to the cupcake papers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
For a sugarfree recipe, this is really very good. The end product has a cake like texture. Unless you are using bananas that are very very sweet, the cake does not taste sweet even after I doubled the amount of banana used. To get the regular sweetness as in normal cakes, add one cup of Splenda - and you get a regular banana cake without the sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States