Sugared Campfire Donuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
WE ADD PECANS AS WELL AND ALSO USE THE LAYERED, FLAKY BISCUITS SPECIFICALLY. WE CALL THIS MONKEY BREAD AT OUR HOUSE. IT HAS BEEN A CHRISTMAS MORNING TRADITION SINCE I CAN REMEMBER. ALONG WITH SPARKLING CIDER AND QUICHE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
really good for camping! The grandkids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
These turned out great cooked over a campfire on our camping trip. They were a hit with the kids and adults!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam AndChad Massie
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
This one has become a staple at our campfire outings! My hubby is the king of cooking them...it does take some finesse when using marshmallow tongs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam AndChad Massie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
This is a yummy recipe. However we make a little different. First of all we use the biscuit with the bits of butter in them (Grands) then we cut them into 4ths and then roll them out like a snake and then wrap around a hot dog fork and cook until golden and then roll into butter and cinnamon sugar. The grands biscuits make a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
This is super good if you take your time. It really is worth the wait.. If you rush it, it burns!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreaahvcom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Great idea; a hit with the kids and the grown-ups! Had the 7.5oz can size; cut the biscuits in half - worked great over hot coals. Didn't have white sugar, so used brown - delish! We couldn't make them fast enough. Will definitely be a new "tradition" for our campfires.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
good good very good. this recipe is off the hook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Good and easy !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy
Home Town: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA
Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I used "Grands" biscuits and baked them rather than roasting on a spit. Once dipped in melted butter, I rolled them in confectioner's sugar. I used a pastry bag to pump red raspberry jam into some of them. You've got to eat them while they are still warm. Not bad for something so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Maple Pumpkin Donuts

Oven baked pumpkin doughnuts with maple glaze.

Paleo Jelly Donut Cupcakes

These tasty jelly donut cupcakes are grain-, refined sugar-, and dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States