Sugared Campfire Donuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
I bet you can't guess who this is!!!! I have come to review because I felt bad that no one reviewed it yet. So I tried it and its pretty good! I reccomend it. Nothing beats real homeade doughnuts, but when out camping...this is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeatlesFan1964

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Hubby liked them, not my favorite. Just tasted like biscuits with sugar and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
The taste was great. It was hard to get the donuts baked all the way through without burning on the outside. So they all turned out a little doughy in the middle. It was a really messy recipe especially when camping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
Our girl scout troop makes these a little differently. We cook the biscuits in butter on top of the camp stove. Melt the butter first, add the biscuits to cover most of the pan. We don't bother cutting and rolling into a ball. Be careful to keep flame low or you'll end up with burned biscuits quickly. Add pats of butter on top as needed as biscuits cook; flip one time as you cook. Roll the hot, buttery biscuits in the cinnamon sugar. Delicious! The girls hover to make sure the get them hot and fresh! If you do cook the biscuits on a stick over fire, I learned to sort of stretch the biscuit out and wrap it around the stick. You'll end up with a long twisted breadstick shape that will cook more evenly over the camp fire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
This sounds great. We tried this while camping and did not have much success. The dough did not want to cook all the way through, so the centers were very doughy. If we left them over the fire the outsides were burnt to a crisp. We did have a rather high flamed fire. This may work better over a small hot coal fire. I will try again with a different fire next time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam AndChad Massie
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
This one has become a staple at our campfire outings! My hubby is the king of cooking them...it does take some finesse when using marshmallow tongs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam AndChad Massie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
The kids loved these, but I too thought that they were basically biscuits with cinnamon and sugar. Some were a bit doughy in the center, but nice and golden on the outside. I guess I should've made them more on the crispy side like the picture shows. Thanks for something different to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skisinco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
This is a yummy recipe. However we make a little different. First of all we use the biscuit with the bits of butter in them (Grands) then we cut them into 4ths and then roll them out like a snake and then wrap around a hot dog fork and cook until golden and then roll into butter and cinnamon sugar. The grands biscuits make a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Great recipe and fun to make!! I made smaller balls and lined them up in rows in a pam sprayed pie iron. Makes it go a little faster for all your hungry campers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
these were yummy but couldn't get the middle to cook unless we burned the outside. I soon gave up and went after good ol' s'mores
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lillaurabean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winlock, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sufganiyot (Donuts)

See how to make traditional Jewish doughnuts.

Maple Pumpkin Donuts

Oven baked pumpkin doughnuts with maple glaze.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States