Sugared Campfire Donuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I used "Grands" biscuits and baked them rather than roasting on a spit. Once dipped in melted butter, I rolled them in confectioner's sugar. I used a pastry bag to pump red raspberry jam into some of them. You've got to eat them while they are still warm. Not bad for something so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
really good for camping! The grandkids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
WE ADD PECANS AS WELL AND ALSO USE THE LAYERED, FLAKY BISCUITS SPECIFICALLY. WE CALL THIS MONKEY BREAD AT OUR HOUSE. IT HAS BEEN A CHRISTMAS MORNING TRADITION SINCE I CAN REMEMBER. ALONG WITH SPARKLING CIDER AND QUICHE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Made these donuts during our last camping trip. Sometimes the method worked sometimes it didnt. The trial and error of it made for some good laughs around the campfire. We rolled them in to balls, stretched them out and wrapped the roasting stick but found that cooking them in a pan over the fire in melted butter worked the best. I'm only giving it 3 stars because they only turned out half the time and talk about high cal/high fat. Doubt I'll make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Good and easy !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy
Home Town: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
good good very good. this recipe is off the hook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
These turned out great cooked over a campfire on our camping trip. They were a hit with the kids and adults!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Great idea; a hit with the kids and the grown-ups! Had the 7.5oz can size; cut the biscuits in half - worked great over hot coals. Didn't have white sugar, so used brown - delish! We couldn't make them fast enough. Will definitely be a new "tradition" for our campfires.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Based on the process I have to only give this a 3. Our process is different but the results taste like Crispy Cremes! We simply place a coffee can on a rack with 2-3 cups of canola oil inside. Make sure your rack is over the even coals. A raging fire will only be a disaster. Use the cheapest biscuits (10 per tube) and simply poke your finger in the center of each biscuit. We usually do this ahead of time and place them on a paper plate for easy access. Gently drop the biscuit in the hot oil. You can cook 2 at a time and use a marshmallow fork to flip them after they turn golden brown. Have a helper standing by with a brown lunch sack filled with 1 cup of sugar and some cinnamon to taste. Place hot donuts in bag, close and shake. They are then passed around the fire and you are lucky if you even get one! Definately not a job for children though they do a great job of eating them up! We usually make 6 tubes and it goes pretty quick. I wear a headlamp so I can see them browning as it's usually a nighttime treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arbygirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
A little tricky on the first try, but gets better with practice. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HugBug01

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Paleo Jelly Donut Cupcakes

These tasty jelly donut cupcakes are grain-, refined sugar-, and dairy-free.

Roasted Potato and Sausage Quiche

A super-simple holiday brunch is ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States