Sugared Black Raspberry Tea Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by danube66
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Good cookies - best eaten within a day. I substituted 1/2 teaspoon almond and 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract for the 1 teaspoon vanilla, and didn't roll the cookies in the extra sugar. Use good quality jelly - it makes a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danube66

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Budapest, Pest, Hungary
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Fantastic recipe. I haven't made many drop cookies that don't contain eggs, let alone any that include corn starch, so this surprised me. I am currently living overseas and this is one recipe that my demonic gas oven didn't completely mangle! I used raspberry and apricot jams and drizzled the finished cookies with some melted chocolate chips and oil, which made for a very attractive presentation. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
"Wow!" That was my boyfriend's response as soon as he bit into one of these. They are soooo good and look quite elegant. I made mine slightly smaller than 1" and only needed to cook them for 10 minutes. I completely forgot to dip all but the last batch in the sugar, but I didn't miss it at all. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Great Recipe. To make uniform cookies, I used my melon baller. And to make it easy to fill the wells I put the jam in a sandwich bag, cut off a small corner and used it like a frosting bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gerri McIntosh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
These are great eggless cookies (what I was looking for). I subbed a few things, as we all do,for what I had on hand. I used whipping cream vs milk, regular sized chocolate chips, strawberry preserves and added 2 drops of ammaretto flavor. Perfect for cookie exchange, if you don't eat them all while they cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brossettelewis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Absolutely delicious, if a bit sweet. They definitely want a cup of tea. Next time I'm going to try almond extract and (fewer) white chocolate chips with the raspberry jam. Chopped almonds and chocolate in the well would be great too. They look cute, too. Good for the holidays. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by palewinterwind

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Very cute and dainty cookies. They taste great also. I didn't have mini chocolate chips so I grated some baking chocolate and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This is my new favorite christmas cookie recipe. I usually don't even eat much of what I bake but I had to have a couple of these. They are really easy and they taste so good. You can use any type of berry jam, I chose to use blackberry. So pretty and so yummy. Thanks for posting this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by 007librarian
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I've fallen in love with these cookies! I made the first dozen too big (my husband's thrilled with that), I think they're better smaller. I made the impression with the small end of a cork and used strawberry preserves (couldn't find black raspberry at my store). I think they're fantastic and love the bits of chocolate in there. I'd give this 10 stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Best cookies by far. Liked it because I didn't need eggs. Outside texture is lightly crisp because of being rolled in sugar. Taste is just right. Changes I made: I only had unsalted butter on hand so I added 1/4 tsp salt instead. I omitted the chocolate chips - not a fan. I rolled them into 3/4" balls so they would be more bite sized, besides it made more. Took less time to cook, probably because my oven is so old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States