Sugar Snap Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
I made this as written, except I also had to sub in dried thyme for fresh. I don't know if I added too much or what, because the thyme flavor was overpowering, and far too "woodsy" tasting for us (tho we were able to eat it, it wasn't too pleasant). Perhaps it's too close to Rosemary, which neither of us can abide. I guess we've tolerated it before because I've generally used it in tomato sauces and such, but when I try this dish again (which I'm sure I will), I think I'll add half the amount of herbs, and sub Italian seasoning for the thyme, or maybe I'll just add garlic. It's hard to beat a good roasted spring vegetable with EVOO, salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
This was tasty and easy. I loved the blend of shallots, thyme, and salt. I didn't have fresh thyme, but dried worked well. The shallots carmelized into crunchy sweetness. I have a convection oven, and 450 degrees would be too hot. I set my oven at 400, and used a spatula to flip them a little, about halfway through (3 to 4 minutes). I'm lazy, so I bought fresh sugar snap peas that had been cleaned and washed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suky
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Great stuff. I have made this twice with great results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highspire, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
This is a great recipe. I made it two days in a row!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
The whole family loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie K Erickson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
So good. I didn't have any fresh thyme, so I was going to use dried but I forgot. It was still amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Followed this recipe as written except used dried thyme. It was delicious. Everyone at the table liked them even my picky granddaughter. Great compliment to pork roast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Talk about an easy yet sooooooo delicious recipe. I've made this now a few times. Never once have I had any left over to save .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
As my husband said "very fresh tasting". I did as other suggested and substituted onion and garlic powder for the shallots, and used dried thyme. Cooked exactly as directed and the peas were the perfect texture. I will definitely make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
My husband and I both enjoyed this. Easy to make and easy to modify. As others suggested, I mixed everything in a bowl before spreading on a cookie sheet. I subbed Italian seasoning that contained thyme for the fresh thyme. Nice change from stir frying the snap peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States