Sugar Peanuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
I've made these for years. They really are excellent. I've given them for Christmas gifts year after year. I'm glad someone submitted this recipe. They're easy to make and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Soooo simple! They would be great Christmas neighborhood gifts! They seem like they would be a lot of work, but are simple. Be sure to keep at medium heat until all liquid is absorbed. I put them on parchment paper and it helped with cleanup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pirate Princess
Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Big hit with the hubby!! Fairly easy to make, great flavor. Found out by trial and error that the lowest rack in the oven worked best (coating tended to burn on the middle rack...could be just my oven). Would definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
By far the easiest recipe I've ever used, and always a very popular! Great for snacking and for giveways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
I came across this recipe and looked at it its the same recipe my customer gave me a couple of weeks ago. They are really good. I doubled the recipe. Just poured water and sugar over peanuts over medium heat and stirred and stirred didnt time myself. Like my customer said just keep stirring until liquid is abosorbed. Just be patient and if you keep stirring the liquid will absorb. Throw them in the oven she told me 30 minutes which I did. Very good!!! Just keep stirring is the secret nothin to it!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
These are great! I've made these twice and the second time I added a teaspoon of salt to the sugar mixture - oooh, they were really tasty. They tasted like the peanuts in a box of Cracker Jacks. As another person said, just keep stirring - the liquid will evaporate eventually, I promise (it took me 15 - 20 minutes I think.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Super easy & really tasty! Reminds me of a candy from when I was a kid - Boston Baked Beans. Clean-up was harder than the whole process of making these yummy nuts because my saucepan isn't non-stick, but this recipe will be made over and over again in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Great recipe! Be sure to use parchment paper to prevent the peanuts from sticking while roasting them in the oven. I made the mistake of using wax paper, then aluminum foil the first two times (doh!). Third time's the charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
These are easy to make and taste great (and I don't even like peanuts). It takes about 15 min to boil all of the water out of the mixture after the peanuts have been added. Doubling the recipe makes it harder to prevent the sugar mixture from scorching so I would suggest making one batch at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I have made these nuts for YEARS. My recipe is a little different: 1 1/2 c sugar, 3/4 c water, 1 lb raw peanuts. I make these at least twice every year. Stir constantly till liquid is absorbed (18-30 mins). Pour onto buttered jelly roll pan. Sprinkle w salt & bake at 300 for 15 mins. Stir. Bake for another 15 mins. Cool. Store in airtight container. Do not double recipe. Found this in a recipe book by Holly Ebel bought in Solvang, CA in the 1980's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Boiled Peanuts

See how to make tasty boiled peanuts from scratch.

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Sugar Coated Pecans

See how to make the perfect sweet snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States