Sugar Peanuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
I've made these for years. They really are excellent. I've given them for Christmas gifts year after year. I'm glad someone submitted this recipe. They're easy to make and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
Before anyone jumps the gun about my rating, and decides not to make these, please try them anyway! My rating has nothing to do with taste, as I have no clue what these tasted like. I don't think the recipe was specific enough for me(I'm not very good with syrups and candy). The syrup never thickened quite enough to hold on to he peanuts. Maybe boiling it for a specific amount of time first? the recipe made it sound like everything happened right away, so I did that, and ended up throwing away the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
These are easy to make and taste great (and I don't even like peanuts). It takes about 15 min to boil all of the water out of the mixture after the peanuts have been added. Doubling the recipe makes it harder to prevent the sugar mixture from scorching so I would suggest making one batch at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
By far the easiest recipe I've ever used, and always a very popular! Great for snacking and for giveways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
I had the same problem as another reviewer... My liquid never became a thick syrup?!? Maybe I too didn't boil long enough...?!? I am sure this is a wonderful recipe and my review is more from my experience, not the taste. I ended up throwing it all away :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
I came across this recipe and looked at it its the same recipe my customer gave me a couple of weeks ago. They are really good. I doubled the recipe. Just poured water and sugar over peanuts over medium heat and stirred and stirred didnt time myself. Like my customer said just keep stirring until liquid is abosorbed. Just be patient and if you keep stirring the liquid will absorb. Throw them in the oven she told me 30 minutes which I did. Very good!!! Just keep stirring is the secret nothin to it!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Soooo simple! They would be great Christmas neighborhood gifts! They seem like they would be a lot of work, but are simple. Be sure to keep at medium heat until all liquid is absorbed. I put them on parchment paper and it helped with cleanup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pirate Princess
Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
These are great! I've made these twice and the second time I added a teaspoon of salt to the sugar mixture - oooh, they were really tasty. They tasted like the peanuts in a box of Cracker Jacks. As another person said, just keep stirring - the liquid will evaporate eventually, I promise (it took me 15 - 20 minutes I think.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Big hit with the hubby!! Fairly easy to make, great flavor. Found out by trial and error that the lowest rack in the oven worked best (coating tended to burn on the middle rack...could be just my oven). Would definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
These do take awhile to cook but they are good. You'll know it is time to take them off the stovetop when the sugar suddenly crystalizes and is no longer liquid. I think I will add some salt next time because just the sugar makes them a bit plain. Great base recipe though. I think I might try them next time with pecans and add cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boiled Peanuts

See how to make tasty boiled peanuts from scratch.

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Sugar Coated Pecans

See how to make the perfect sweet snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States