Sugar Peanuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
These are great! I've made these twice and the second time I added a teaspoon of salt to the sugar mixture - oooh, they were really tasty. They tasted like the peanuts in a box of Cracker Jacks. As another person said, just keep stirring - the liquid will evaporate eventually, I promise (it took me 15 - 20 minutes I think.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
These are easy to make and taste great (and I don't even like peanuts). It takes about 15 min to boil all of the water out of the mixture after the peanuts have been added. Doubling the recipe makes it harder to prevent the sugar mixture from scorching so I would suggest making one batch at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
These are easy and great. The first time I tried them, I thought I had done something wrong because it took so long for the sugar to thicken up around the peanuts. It takes 6 - 7 minutes. So be patient! Then, my oven tends to run hot so I burned them but they still tasted pretty good. The second time I made them, I baked them at 300 for 25 minutes and they came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
I've made these for years. They really are excellent. I've given them for Christmas gifts year after year. I'm glad someone submitted this recipe. They're easy to make and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
Before anyone jumps the gun about my rating, and decides not to make these, please try them anyway! My rating has nothing to do with taste, as I have no clue what these tasted like. I don't think the recipe was specific enough for me(I'm not very good with syrups and candy). The syrup never thickened quite enough to hold on to he peanuts. Maybe boiling it for a specific amount of time first? the recipe made it sound like everything happened right away, so I did that, and ended up throwing away the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This is a great recipe. It originates from Africa where it is a restaurant and street food snack. It's called Sugar Peanuts. You may want to wait until the boiling liquid has come to the thin thread stage ~ 223-234ºF (106-112ºC) before adding the peanuts. They will have time to cook before reaching the hard crack stage when all of the water has evaporated. The temperature will drop and you will have to bring it back, but that happens pretty fast. HTH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
My only advice is to keep stirring! I waited about 15 minutes and all of a sudden the liquid crystallized. I put the nuts on a cookie sheet and baked for about 15-20 minutes (didn't need the full 20 minutes). I tried this recipe both with salt and without. I think it is better without the salt! This recipe is great for parties, too. My friends loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERRYBERRY1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Soooo simple! They would be great Christmas neighborhood gifts! They seem like they would be a lot of work, but are simple. Be sure to keep at medium heat until all liquid is absorbed. I put them on parchment paper and it helped with cleanup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pirate Princess
Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I love sweet nuts and these are excellent. It took about 5 min before the mixture came to a rolling boil after the peanuts were added and 8-10 min. after that until the syrup disappeared and all that was left were peanuts coated in a thick coating of sugar. It was almost like magic! I don't work with candy much, so I'm glad I read the reviews. My husband said, "Add this recipe to your book." They were that good. Oh, the roasting went well. Did it exactly like the recipe stated. When these are right out of the oven, they seem soft, but when they cool they are quite crunchy--if you can wait that long to eat them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
I came across this recipe and looked at it its the same recipe my customer gave me a couple of weeks ago. They are really good. I doubled the recipe. Just poured water and sugar over peanuts over medium heat and stirred and stirred didnt time myself. Like my customer said just keep stirring until liquid is abosorbed. Just be patient and if you keep stirring the liquid will absorb. Throw them in the oven she told me 30 minutes which I did. Very good!!! Just keep stirring is the secret nothin to it!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Boiled Peanuts

See how to make tasty boiled peanuts from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States