Sugar Glazed Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
So EASY! I have added other nuts with it like pecans ....and I add cinnamon, allspice and a dash of Cayenne pepper and clove for a wonderful spicy flavor. My husband LOVES this!!! and it makes a wonderful holiday gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Very easy and great taste, but not quite there on the texture. Even after cooling completely, they were still not crunchy - slightly mushy. Will try again and put them in the oven for a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This version should be called "sanded walnuts". Generally I consider myself a fairly accomplished baker, however, when it comes to caramelizing sugar I cringe! After reading the reviews I decided to break one of my standing rules, not to change anything the first time out. This is what I did: 2 Cups walnuts, 1/2 cup BROWN sugar, 3 tablespoons of water in a wide Pyrex 4 cup measure, 8 minutes at 8% power in microwave. Stirred every minute until it got really bubbly then I shortened the time. At one point the bubbles were multiplying. It was at about 4 minutes. I held them out for more than 30 second stirring for some reason, popped them back in. 40 seconds later I did not see bubbling, took them out and the "syrup" had turned back to sugar (this is why I cringe). Decided to take them out with about 3 minutes to go, spread them onto parchment (I'm lazy) on a cookie sheet. They are really good! I will try it again but take them out sooner and try not to let them cool down too much while stirring and popping them back in again. Thanks to all you for your suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Yikes -- too good to last in my house!! I made some adjustments to suit my sweet tooth at the moment. I used a mixture of walnuts, almonds, pumpkin seeds and sunflower seeds. I added maybe 1/2 to 1 tsp of cinnamon and a touch of sea salt. I also used half brown sugar and half white sugar. Microwave for about 5 minutes and oven at 350 for maybe 10 min as well. I know this is a bit different from the posted recipe, but there's a lot you can do with this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Used with Splenda Blend, a 1/2 tea of vanilla extract, and 2 tablespoons of cinnamon and they were ready to be added to anything my heart desires.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Worked out great...Sugar Glazed as promissed. I only needed half the recipe so I put it in the micro and every 20-30 seconds stirred. It was like a syrup for every stir and then finally (about 3 min. into it) it turned within 20 seconds to sugar glazed...so I can see if you are not watching this, how it can burn quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Yum! This recipe is fabulous! I made them to put in a chicken salad and ended up eating almost all of them before I could mix it up. Totally worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
these are so easy and so good! they taste like the ones you can buy at 6 flags or from other street vendors. I will never pay for an expensive packet of salad nuts from a grocery store again. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I used pecans and combined previous suggestions. I added a little brown sugar with the white sugar. Watch very carefully so it doesn't burn. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Great tasty nuts to add to my salad! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

All about Walnuts

See how to get healthy, crunchy walnuts into your diet.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States