Sugar Glazed Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
These are excellent. I don't do them in the microwave. I do them on a sheet pan in the oven at 350 for 10 mins, stir them around then about another 10 mins or until the sugar crystalizes. This works great with pecan halves too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Fizzano
Reviewed: May 16, 2015
These were great for a quick recipe, the coating became sort of crystalized on mine, which is fine, I'm using them for an ice cream topping, I was hoping for a more glazed type nut which I think would need the addition of milk. I'm thinking of trying this same recipe with milk instead of water next time. I cooked for 1 minute then stirred every 30 seconds, they were done in my 1000 watt microwave in 3 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I'm sure it depends on your microwave but 8 minutes was way too long in mine. Per the instructions planned to stir several times so I set the first round at 2 minutes then stirred. It was at the first stage, liquidy. Then 2 minutes more and stirred. The second stage was a much tighter liquid, more like a thick syrup. Then 2 minutes more. The third stage was a coarse candy texture. Then 2 minutes more...but...after 1 minute of the last 2 minutes, I could smell them starting to burn. I removed them after 1 minute and thank goodness I did. Some of them were almost black and the sugar was stuck strongly onto the glass of the measuring cup. I had to scrape them off of the glass in order to get them out. All in all, the ones that didn't burn were very tasty. I made these to put on my salad and it served it's purpose. I will make these again as they were quick and easy but I will definitely not go 8 minutes. This time I will go 6.5 minutes and they should be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This recipe was amazingly simple. The walnuts could have used a light toasting in the oven after microwaving if I were putting them in a salad. However, I used them in an oven baked appetizer (puff pastry, Stilton, and caramelized onions topped with glazed walnuts), and they were perfect. I stirred the mixture every 30 seconds and had no problems with burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
8 mins. In the microwave burnt the sugar to a crisp. to throw it away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Awesome recipe! Easy to make. Just follow the directions and use common sense! Gonna experiment with other nuts and additives. SO much cheaper that purchasing at the grocery!!! Add craisens and such and you have a great salad topping!! pre-made and prepaid!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Again toasted the nuts first, and only made one cup. Took less than 4 minutes to caramelize the sugar. What a money saving idea, 3.99 for same amount already done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieWI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Love this recipe. Reduced sugar by 2 tbsp. Used square glass pan. Started in microwave for 2 min at a time for 8 total min then 3 min. Stir in between ea time segment. Moved to baking sheet lined w/ parchment paper & placed in preheated oven at 350' for 15 min. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Just tried this recipe. In less than four minutes I managed to annihilate all the walnuts and most probably the glass measuring cup that I was microwaving them in. The whole blackened mess is sitting on my kitchen counter still bubbling away like some noxious witches brew. Oh well, I guess it will be plain old unglazed walnuts for my salad! A word to the wise...watch cooking times VERY carefully if you bother to try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
These are perfect for a sweet snack or as a topping on a desert or fruity salad! They are very sweet. I think they taste good right out of the microwave or popping them into the oven after microwaving them. Will satisfy any sweet tooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Sugar Coated Pecans

See how to make the perfect sweet snack.

All about Walnuts

See how to get healthy, crunchy walnuts into your diet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States