Sugar Glazed Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This recipe was amazingly simple. The walnuts could have used a light toasting in the oven after microwaving if I were putting them in a salad. However, I used them in an oven baked appetizer (puff pastry, Stilton, and caramelized onions topped with glazed walnuts), and they were perfect. I stirred the mixture every 30 seconds and had no problems with burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
8 mins. In the microwave burnt the sugar to a crisp. to throw it away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Awesome recipe! Easy to make. Just follow the directions and use common sense! Gonna experiment with other nuts and additives. SO much cheaper that purchasing at the grocery!!! Add craisens and such and you have a great salad topping!! pre-made and prepaid!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Again toasted the nuts first, and only made one cup. Took less than 4 minutes to caramelize the sugar. What a money saving idea, 3.99 for same amount already done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Love this recipe. Reduced sugar by 2 tbsp. Used square glass pan. Started in microwave for 2 min at a time for 8 total min then 3 min. Stir in between ea time segment. Moved to baking sheet lined w/ parchment paper & placed in preheated oven at 350' for 15 min. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Just tried this recipe. In less than four minutes I managed to annihilate all the walnuts and most probably the glass measuring cup that I was microwaving them in. The whole blackened mess is sitting on my kitchen counter still bubbling away like some noxious witches brew. Oh well, I guess it will be plain old unglazed walnuts for my salad! A word to the wise...watch cooking times VERY carefully if you bother to try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
These are perfect for a sweet snack or as a topping on a desert or fruity salad! They are very sweet. I think they taste good right out of the microwave or popping them into the oven after microwaving them. Will satisfy any sweet tooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Beyond fabulous! I add a sprinkle of cinnamon and my family loves them. I have also used this with cashews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly, put the nuts in the micro for 8 min. and I ended up with 2 cups of burnt up nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
I had walnuts and wanted to sugar them, found this recipe and in 8 minutes had exactly what I craved. Talk about instant gratification... AMAZING. I followed the directions exactly, used a 4-cup Pyrex measuring cup to cook them. Stirred every two minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zernike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

All about Walnuts

See how to get healthy, crunchy walnuts into your diet.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States