Sugar Glazed Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Light and tasty, good for summer grilling!! Easy, too. I am a novice griller, so I don't know if this is normal for salmon, but the "skin-side" of the fish burned to a blackened crisp once I had flipped the fish over for the 2nd 12-minute side. We didn't eat that side so it was fine in the end, but I wanted to mention it to others making this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLYNBASS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I love salmon and I love vinegar so this recipe was perfect for my taste! I'm making it again tonight. I recommend reserving some of the marinade for drizzling on after its cooked...that way, it is not contaminated by raw meat. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
We ate it, but it wasn't one of our favorites. I halved the sugar - putting half of that amount in the marinade & half on top. Well, eventhough I used Balsamic vinegar - sweeter than red wine vinegar - it still tasted too much like vinaigrette on salmon. Sweet & salmon does go together fine, but I think the problem is the vinegar. I'll stick with Asian Salmon, but still hunt for another good one. Any suggestions? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
Tried it without the sugar glazing and it was fantastic! Very healthy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
If you're a huge fan of salmon, avoid this recipe. I tried this recipe thinking it would be a new and different variation on my favorite fish - boy, was it! Wayyyy too sweet, and like another reviewer said, the sauce completely masked the distinctive flavor of the fish. Now I know that sugar and salmon were not meant to be. Not to completely trample over Yvonne's submission, I DO think this might be good for someone who hates fish or to maybe convince finicky-pallated young children to eat fish. I'd say it's a recipe for fish-eaters on training wheels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
Wow, very tasty a deffinate keeper, I used half balsamic and half white wine vinager twas excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
We loved it - even the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2004
I wanted to do something new to my usual salmon fillets and I thought this recipe was a "safe" bet since so many have given it 5 stars. I love salmon, but I could barely eat it this time. My tastebuds must be completely different from everyone else's because I found this recipe terrible. Salmon is already sweet since it is naturally fatty. The sugar and red wine vinegar made the fish so sweet and fruity tasting that it was really a waste of good salmon. All I could taste was the marinade and none of the salmon. I would not recommend this recipe. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
This was OK-be sure to watch the salmon to avoid burning with the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
Loved it ! Tried without the sugar and it was terrific ! Finishes real moist, not dry as salmon tends to get....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Sweet 'n' Hot Glazed Salmon

See how to make simple broiled salmon with a sweet and spicy glaze.

Cedar Planked Salmon

See how to make cedar planked salmon with a simple Asian marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States