Sugar Free Rugelach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
My father loves sweets but he was diagnosed diabetic this year, which has been hard on him. Being Christmas and all, I searched for a cookie that he can eat, and I found this one. He really liked it. He said it wasn't very sweet but after a moment or two eatting it, he can taste the natural sugars. I'll make these again for him. It was fairly easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarkestStar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
Fantastic recipe! You can feel confident serving these to anyone. I glazed a little extra apricot preserves over the baked rugelash to make them look a little prettier. Got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
My diabetic husband thought they were good and said he'd eat them again if I made them again. "And please make them again." The pastry part whipped together quickly, the rolling / spreading part took a bit, and I could only get 8 slices rather than the 16 suggested, since I knew I'd just make a horrid mess if I tried to roll smaller crescents. Maybe someone with more skill could manage... All told, these were a good choice. My kids enjoyed them too, surprisingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
WhooHoo!! Finally a recipe that my diabetic grandmother can enjoy! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
These were a hit with those who eat sugar and those who can't. I also glazed a little bit of the preserves over the rugelach. It made them look prettier and added to the fruity flavor. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
tasty and healthy too! i highly recommend making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
A terrific recipe for rugelach. I make this a lot and the results are always delicious. I like to use a bit more jam than the recipe calls for. I doubt anyone would notice that there is no sugar in this recipe. Not sure if the kids would like it, being a single gal, but I expect anyone who likes rugelach will not be dissappointed by this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
My boyfriend's boss recently learned that he's diabetic, so this Christmas has been difficult for him. This was a great recipe to find. Even the other guys at work liked it, and they're very picky. My mom also took some to work, and they fought over the last one! They also couldn't believe that there was NO sugar. My only problem was the time it took to roll all 64 cookies. Probably less work when someone's helping -- and more fun too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
This receipe was very Kid Friendly as far as them helping prepare it. They very much enjoyed spreading the jam everywhere. However, my picky kids wouldn't eat it when they were done. I enjoyed it immensely and so did my Wednesday night church class (mainly diabetics).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
Both of my parents are diabetic, and since I love to bake, I always like to bring something home to them for family get togethers that they can eat (and is yummy.) It was a family occasion that I first brought these home for. The best thing about this recipe is that EVERYONE loves it. And if you don't tell people it's sugar free, they'll never know!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rugelach

See how to make traditional rugelach with walnuts and raisins.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States