Sugar Free Rugelach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2006
These are VERY good. BUT, as a diabetic/ nutrition freak I must caution users that just because a recipe does not have refined or added sugar does NOT mean that it is "safe for diabetics." Naturally sweet (at least in this case) means naturally high in sugar. Although these are better than most cookie recipes, they still contain apricot and raisins which have a LOT of fructose and must be eaten in moderation by anyone who has a sensitivity to sugar or carbs, as they are high on the glycemic index.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klzee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
Both of my parents are diabetic, and since I love to bake, I always like to bring something home to them for family get togethers that they can eat (and is yummy.) It was a family occasion that I first brought these home for. The best thing about this recipe is that EVERYONE loves it. And if you don't tell people it's sugar free, they'll never know!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
Wonderful! I need good sugar free items for several members of my family and this is the best cookie recipe yet. I used 1/3 C. Splenda in dough and 2 Tbls. in raisin/nut mixture. I divided the dough, wrapped in Glad Wrap and chilled. It was very easy to get the 16 triangles and they practically rolled themselves! I rolled each 1/4 of dough between sheets of waxed paper. When I had each round the right size I carefully peeled back the wax paper, dusted with flour, layed each round on cookie sheet and chilled for about 10 minutes before I layered fruit and nut mixture. I too brushed each with fruit spread just as they came out of the oven. It's nice because I prepared raisins/nuts mixture, put in plastic bag; then later stirred up dough and chilled it; then later on I made the cookies. This makes it seem less labor intensive. Thanks for this recipe. It is the greatest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
These are great but they are not for diabetics. Grains are as bad for a diabetic as sugar and that includes flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Fantastic recipe. Everyone loves it. No need to tell anyone it is sugarfree. I made several variations. I made some with sugarfree Raspberry Preserves, and some with Sugar Free Maple syrup and Pecans (brush a little bit of syrup on tops after they have been baked). Last year I made some with a raspberry creamcheese filling. Beat creamcheese with a little splenda and little SF raspberry preserves. ( Sorry, I rarely measure anything) You can also use this dough in a mini tart pan. I did that too last year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2001
This recipe I altered by using whole wheat flour instead of the white and I believe it added a delightful nutty crunch. Though , it was harder to see if they were golden brown! I regret not putting on more apricot spread, for they were a bit dry, but I can easily adjust that. I would also increase the filling amount next time, I still have a quarter of dough in my fridge because I ran out! But I will be making this again soon! Great with coffee and tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Since I made some changes (not by choice) they had a lovely mild sweet taste to them. Great way to snack and satisfy your cravings without feeling guilty. A few of these could serve as a quick breakfast. Instead of walnuts, I used pecans. Instead of apricot preserves, I used Smucker's low sugar strawberry. Instead of margarine, I used 1/2 stick butter and 1/2 cup applesauce then added milled flaxseed for the pastry.***UPDATE*** I made this again but I didn't have cream cheese. I used sour cream and plain yogurt with a bit more flour, I had to bake it twice as long and it still came out awesome!! This is my favorite recipe, I will make this more often, maybe fill it with other things like tomatoes and mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
The 4 star rating is for the recipe itself. It is a good recipe for those who aren't diabetic. However, don't eat this if you are a diabetic nor prepare it for someone who is a diabetic. There are way too many carbs in it for the diabetic. Carbs turn to sugar. Even if you substitute whole wheat flour, there will be a problem with carbs. So many diabetics think that if something doesn't have sugar they can eat it, but if there is flour in it you can't. And raisins are high in sugar. Just avoid this recipe if you are a diabetic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
This is the BEST recipe for sugar free rugelach I have ever tasted. I like to add a little Splenda into the dough and also into the filing. It's also real easy to triple the recipe and to store it in a container(even thought it gets eaten real fast!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
My diabetic husband thought they were good and said he'd eat them again if I made them again. "And please make them again." The pastry part whipped together quickly, the rolling / spreading part took a bit, and I could only get 8 slices rather than the 16 suggested, since I knew I'd just make a horrid mess if I tried to roll smaller crescents. Maybe someone with more skill could manage... All told, these were a good choice. My kids enjoyed them too, surprisingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rugelach

See how to make traditional rugelach with walnuts and raisins.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States