Sugar Free Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
This recipe is WONDERFUL! I've been mixing it up a little... Replacing the date/water paste with a prune/apple cider paste...Adding flax seeds for more nutrition... This makes a GREAT cereal (hot or cold) served with the left over apple cider to add sweetness instead of just plain milk or water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
I made this granola to take on a camping trip. It was really great although it took a lot of preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
I'm not sure of what your idea of sugar free is? But this is pretty high in sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
I am always looking for recipes that my diabetic husband can enjoy and we both loved this one. While it has natural sugars, they are not the refined type which cause spikes in his blood sugar. The dates, while adding sweetness, also add fiber which helps with blood sugar levels. I used no sugar added apple juice concentrate, unsweetened coconut more nuts and seeds and less dried fruit. I loved that this recipes is very flexible regarding ingredients. I also baked it a bit longer than the recipes stated to achieve desired crispness. Thank you, Isadore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
Great recipe and although it has natural sugar, it is indeed sugar free. Some may forget that coconut, apple juice and dates do not contain sugar unless you buy the sweetened variety. This will definitely be something I make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I followed the directions exactly. When it was all mixed together, I needed just a little bit more moisture. I added another 1/4th cup of apple juice. I loved the taste of this granola. It was not too sweet. Next time I may add cinamon. Just to see how that tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2002
Delish!! This is the recipe I have been looking for. My husband and I are trying to cut out sugar- refined and things like honey, syrup etc- so this recipe is perfect. Great nutty, toasty flavour and just a hint of sweetness. Merci Isadore!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
This recipe based on date paste is really original. The only problem I had was with the baking time. I followed the directions carefully, and my granola was soft and soggy. I had to bake it for an additiona 40 min or so, stirring every 15 min, and it became sufficiently crispy as it cooled. However, the wheat germ also burned. I would recommend mixing the date paste mixture into the rolled oats (and nothing else) FIRST, and THEN baking it at 275 degrees for about 30-45 min, stirring every 1/2 hour. Then, add the nuts, seeds, and wheat germ, and bake for an additional 10-15 min. I wouldn't add the raisins until the granola has cooled completely, or else the raisins may get further dehydrated and too hard and chewey. This recipe can indeed have no refined sugar, if you you can find no sugar added dried fruit. For multigrain, use a variety of grain flakes, such as spelt, oat, barley, triticale, wheat, and rye flakes. To increase the sweetness, use 2 cups dried fruit (choose plump, soft ones, as leaving it in granola for a week or two dries it out - dried apples and pitted Deglet dates are my favorite). I also like to add flavor by mixing in vanilla extract or fresh orange zest, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, ginger, and cardammom into the date paste. You can also replace part or all of the wheat germ with wheat bran (or other grain bran) and/or soy protein powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I made some changes to the recipe. Instead of the paste made with the dates, I used mashed ripe bananas and added 1/2 Cup Splenda. It turned out good. Not super sweet but I don't want a sugary cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Good recipe. I added NuNaturals for Baking Stevia Powder for extra sweetness and fiber. I used 3/4 cup wheat germ and 1/4 cup ground flax seed. When I make it next time I will add a little salt. Very good recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States