Sugar Free Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2002
Delish!! This is the recipe I have been looking for. My husband and I are trying to cut out sugar- refined and things like honey, syrup etc- so this recipe is perfect. Great nutty, toasty flavour and just a hint of sweetness. Merci Isadore!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
I made this granola to take on a camping trip. It was really great although it took a lot of preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
I'm not sure of what your idea of sugar free is? But this is pretty high in sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
This recipe is WONDERFUL! I've been mixing it up a little... Replacing the date/water paste with a prune/apple cider paste...Adding flax seeds for more nutrition... This makes a GREAT cereal (hot or cold) served with the left over apple cider to add sweetness instead of just plain milk or water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
Pretty good. NOT sugar free though. Coconut has sugar in it, dates bought pre-chopped generally have sugar on them, and concentrate should send off little bells. I rinsed the dates really well, let them sit a bit, rinsed them again then made the paste out of them. For the coconut I also rinsed it until there was no sugar left on it and then toasted it seperately. For the apple juice I used apple juice not from concentrate and then added a bit of sugar substitute. Nothing I would eat plain but it's great with yogurt. I also found that I had to go through and re-bake at 3rd time to make it toasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quincy, Washington, USA
Living In: Southington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
This recipe based on date paste is really original. The only problem I had was with the baking time. I followed the directions carefully, and my granola was soft and soggy. I had to bake it for an additiona 40 min or so, stirring every 15 min, and it became sufficiently crispy as it cooled. However, the wheat germ also burned. I would recommend mixing the date paste mixture into the rolled oats (and nothing else) FIRST, and THEN baking it at 275 degrees for about 30-45 min, stirring every 1/2 hour. Then, add the nuts, seeds, and wheat germ, and bake for an additional 10-15 min. I wouldn't add the raisins until the granola has cooled completely, or else the raisins may get further dehydrated and too hard and chewey. This recipe can indeed have no refined sugar, if you you can find no sugar added dried fruit. For multigrain, use a variety of grain flakes, such as spelt, oat, barley, triticale, wheat, and rye flakes. To increase the sweetness, use 2 cups dried fruit (choose plump, soft ones, as leaving it in granola for a week or two dries it out - dried apples and pitted Deglet dates are my favorite). I also like to add flavor by mixing in vanilla extract or fresh orange zest, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, ginger, and cardammom into the date paste. You can also replace part or all of the wheat germ with wheat bran (or other grain bran) and/or soy protein powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
I am always looking for recipes that my diabetic husband can enjoy and we both loved this one. While it has natural sugars, they are not the refined type which cause spikes in his blood sugar. The dates, while adding sweetness, also add fiber which helps with blood sugar levels. I used no sugar added apple juice concentrate, unsweetened coconut more nuts and seeds and less dried fruit. I loved that this recipes is very flexible regarding ingredients. I also baked it a bit longer than the recipes stated to achieve desired crispness. Thank you, Isadore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
Great recipe and although it has natural sugar, it is indeed sugar free. Some may forget that coconut, apple juice and dates do not contain sugar unless you buy the sweetened variety. This will definitely be something I make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This is a tasty version of a less sweet granola. Correct, this recipe doesn't have added sugar, therefore it could be labeled sugar free. Correct, this recipe has plenty of natural sugar. However it also has plenty of starch, both of which cause a blood sugar rise in a diabetic. Diabetics, eat this granola with caution. The recipe yielded 13 cups when I made it, as written. I put it through a nutrient analysis and per 1/2 cup - 237 calories, 11 gms fat, 31 gms carbohydrate, 5 gms fiber. Hope this helps, Karen, Registered Dietitian
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I halved the recipe and it still made a lot. I had to bake it for 40 plus minutes and I had it on a large cookie to get it toasted. Really had no taste even with all the sugar. I would prefer a good old granola bar over this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States