Sugar-Free Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I made this for my husband who is diabetic yesterday. It was very yummy, so much so that I enjoyed a piece myself. It was the first time my husband has been able to lick the bowl in years! I tweeked it a little & it was totally SF. I used sf chocolate cake mix. For the frosting I used one box of SF vanilla instant pudding mix (small box), 1 1/4 cups of whole milk, regular cream cheese, & SF cool whip. This frosted the tops of TWO 9x13 cakes sufficiently. I had no problem with frosting consistency, I did not use a mixer. I also was making one for our club, they LOVED it. This will be the only SF frosting I will make in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
okay, but not good or tasty, very bland flavorless. a waste of cream cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I originally wanted to try this recipe because my uncle is a diabetic. Today I made a pumpkin cupcake with this frosting for a bday party and the kids loved it! I did make minor changes to keep the frosting consistency a little thicker and less fat. I used 8oz. Philadelphia Soft Cream Cheese 1/3 fat, 2% milk, Jello's sugar free vanilla pudding, and only 4 tbsp of canned whipped cream instead (Cool Whip has high fructose corn syrup so I didn't use that). It turned out surprisingly creamy without tasting cream cheesy at all and not at all salty but more sweet probably because I used the vanilla flavored pudding. It's IMPORTANT to CHILL the frosting after making it for at least 15-20 mins. so it BECOMES THICKER and LESS RUNNY. Using my ingredients per serving is 53 calories, 2.8 fat,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
My son-in-law is always doing his low carb diet thing, so in place of whipped topping, I whipped up 1 cup of heavy cream with 2 packets of Splenda and a dash of vanilla. Also cut back the milk to 1-1/2 cups so that it would hold its shape better. It was FABULOUS!! Perfect, light, silky and ethereal frosting. Put it on a black bean chocolate cake and my SIL was ecstatic!! Chocolate cake with chocolate frosting that actually works on a low carb diet (Note that it's not NO carb, but pretty darned low for a diet treat.) He wants my daughter to make it all the time for him now. Although it's not low calorie this way, it's perfect for diabetics as well as low carb dieters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I made this frosting today. I used the big box of sugar-free vanilla pudding and 1 3/4 cups of milk. I also used reduced fat cream cheese. It was thick and will go great on a cake! (especially red velvet. Yuuuuuuum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Five stars for flavor; four stars because it's a little runny and hard to work with. I let the milk & pudding sit for about 5 minutes while I beat the cream cheese. I could have let the pudding thicken longer, but the recipe doesn't really say how long or how thick. With careful persistence, I did get the cake frosted. Then I put it into the refrigerator hoping the frosting would firm up a bit - which luckily it did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
When I made this I was trying to do it by memory and forgot to use milk and it turned out great. I used a sugar free cake mix and I used the Chocolate fudge sugar free jello pudding and the sugar free Cool whip so it was certainly sugar free. I added about 2 tablespoons of sour cream and about 2 tablespoons of splenda. I had many requests for the recipe. The consistancy was thick and creamy and would be a great consistancy for piping. With all of the flavor choices of sugar free pudding now the flavor combinations are endless. FYI Pillsbury now makes a sugar free cake mix in yellow and chocolate however the sugar free frosting in a can is discusting (but I dont like can frosting).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
My husband and I are both diabetics. I am always looking for good recipes that will give us the taste of being sinfully delicious without the sugar!! This frosting recipe is great! I followed someones advice on here and decreased the milk to 1 cup and used a large box of sugar free pudding. Also added the whipped topping in with a mixer instead of just folding it in. I happened to use the cream cheese pudding and it turned out great! Thanks to Chelsey for posting this recipe. Gives us diabetics something to have as a treat without all the unwanted sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Wow, what a great sugar-free frosting! (Especially after you've tried that nasty stuff in the can!) I used a large box of choc. pudding mix and 1 1/3 C milk. It didn't hold a swirl as much as I would've liked, so I think I'll use 1 1/2 C milk next time. But the taste is fantastic and it's so easy to make! I had leftovers, so I'm debating serving it as a mousse, or maybe freezing it to make sugar-free fudge pops. yum yum! Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I didn't find that this frosting had much flavour at all which I suppose could be the type of pudding I used, but regardless when I started to pipe it on my cupcakes it started to melt into a big globby mess. I literally had to scrape it all off of the ones I had done and made traditional icing instead. If you are just icing a cake and you HAVE to have sugar free it's worth trying, but I definitely will not be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States