Sugar-Free Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
This frosting was really yummy, but needed a few tweaks. I tried making it according to the recipe but it came out WAY too wet for my cupcakes - it would never stand up to a layer cake. I ended up doubling the pudding as suggested but it was still a little thinner than I would have liked. Next time I'll halve the whipped cream and it should be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARGAZER8383

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Recipe came out well. Most SF / FF instant pudding mixes I could find were exactly 1oz, so I had to add a bit from a second box, but the overall results were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Very Yummy! I used Fat Free Cool Whip, Fat Free Cream Cheese, and 1 3.4 oz box chocolate pudding mix. And topped it on 1 weight watchers cake made from 1 box chocolate cake mix made with 1 can diet 7up and 2 egg whites. Got great compliments on the cake, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ToddNDana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Emporia, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
yummy and very easy to make! I used this for cupcakes and it worked great. I give it 4 stars because I can see it wouldn't work as well a cake; it's not quite thick enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Makaha, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
some have suggested using less milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I give this four stars only because amazingly enough it was too sweet! I don't know how that's possible, considering it's sugar free, and I am NOT a picky person when it comes to sweets. I tried to make this as a filling for a pumpkin roll mainly because the original recipe called for 1 cup powdered sugar which sickened me calorie-wise. Well, I made this with only one cup skim milk, the big box of vanilla pudding, fat-free creamcheese, and fat-free whipped cream, and it had a very good consistency. (by the way, don't try to fold the whip cream, you have to use the electric mixer) i would recommend this as a frosting, but not for a filling in a cake or roll. If you want to use this recipe as a filling, cut the whip cream in half or so. This tasted good, but was kind of overwhelming, however I'm sure young kids will love this and I will definitely make this again. Also, if you use the fat-free versions of everything, its a very low-calorie treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demimi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This frosting is surprisingly great! I followed the previous suggestion and used the big box of pudding (2.1 oz, I think) and reduced the milk to one cup. This made for a good, thick frosting. It was almost gummy, which helped it stick really well and not melt, but it still tasted great (not sticky)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
I make this but with 1 block fat free cream cheese, 1-8 ounce tub whipped topping, and 1 TB sugar replacement (like splenda). I beat it with the mixer, and frost away!! This has a much more solid consistency and also can be left out for longer (but do make sure you refrigerate).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I have made this recipe several times, use large box of pudding, adjust the milk a little at a time to get the consistency you need for frosting. The frosting stayed on the cake, no problem, use less milk so it's thicker. Just love this. It is like chocolate mousse. Will try other sugar-free flavors in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
I made this for my sister (who is allergic to sugar) for her birthday cake and everyone else in the family tried it without any complaints (which is rave review from my family for a sugar free recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Merritt, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States