Sugar Free Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
i made this cake twice. The taste was good both times, (but you really have to like raisins). The first time it came out a bit dense. The second time I made it I added a tsp of baking powder and let it sit about 5 minutes before I put it in the oven. That seems to make it a little lighter. Overall a good cake for someone who is limiting sugar intake. I also used half whole wheat flour. I might cut back on the splenda next time. with all the raisins, it is plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2000
This was a really terrific cake! I made it for my grandfather who is a diabetic. It was a wonderful addition to my Thanksgiving Dinner! Two suggestions I have are: 1. 1 hour is actually a little too long to cook it. Although some ovens may vary. 2. This cake comes out a beautiful spongy brown color, and if you like, you could put the tiniest sprinkle of powdered sugar on top... BEAUTIFUL!!! This is a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
I made this cake for two diabetics and even had a piece my self. I only used 1 cup of raisins, 1 1/2 C.water, and added a little more cinnamon. I used the food processor and it turned out delicious. My friends want to know when I,m making that moist yummy cake again. Usually when I've baked with applesauce the cakes usually seem rubbery this was not. Don't hesitate to make this cake. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
Absolutely fantastic cake! My guests had no idea that this cake was sugar free. Instead of adding liquid sweetener I used 3 tablespoons of concentrated apple juice. The texture was moist and crumbly. When I first took it out of the oven I thought that it would be heavy because it didn’t seem to have risen a lot. But I was wrong, it was quite light! Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
Excellent recipe! I used sweet'n low liquid, you could not tell this was sugar free. Next time I am going to add prune puree in place of the vegetable oil so it will be a low fat delight as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
Excellent. I received requests for the recipe at our faculty breakfast/lunch. You can substitute one and a half cups of Splenda for the 3 tablespoons of liquid sweetener listed in the recipe, if you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
Trying out new recipes for diabetic friends. This was unbelievable and moist. Everyone loved it and I am proud to put this on my table! Even those who don't usually enjoy raisins enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I just made this cake for my diabetic father's birthday. It was a huge success. I made it just as stated in the recipe but didn't put in the raisins (my family is not a fan) and baked them in 2 9 in round pans for 25 mins and then made a layer cake out of them with the recipe for sugar free frosting on here made with the cheesecake pudding. My family loved it and said the few leftovers there were tasted even better after sitting for a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wheeling, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Very pleased with the final product! Used some reviewers tips and added the 1 tsp baking powder, baked as 2 8 inch cakes for 25 minutes and frosted with the sugar free cream cheese frosting from this site. Was a hit for the no-sugar eater's bday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
OMG this was sooo moist & delicious! I followed another reviewers suggestion of using the Splenda (taste preference), I used 2/3cup of light mayonnaise in place of the oil & eggs. I also used the food processor and it came out perfect! I made it for dieting & diabetic company and usually there are leftovers but not this time! I had to make another one for my husband & daughter the very next day! Aside from my own changes I believe following the recipe to a T would also produce delicious results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ade

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Festus, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States