Sugar Free Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I can not have any sugar so am always looking for a sugar free treat recipe so I can get just a little of my 'chocolate' fix periodically. After reading the reviews I was a bit skeptical of trying this recipe. I followed a few of the suggestions and this recipe turned out great. I did add the baking powder and the vanilla. I also followed what someone had said and for the splenda, I took the measuring cup and put in the smaller box of s/f chocolate pudding mix in there and then finished filling the remainder of the way with the splenda. I used only evaporated milk and I did use about 1/4 cup more than it called for. I did not put the topping on and boy, me and my family loved them. Oh, I didn't use the nuts either. I made it a few times and am sitting here eating it as I type!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I didn't like these at all....I only bake sugar free and these were the worst things I have made. No flavor at all! Waste of ingredients, we threw them away after trying one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
OH MY GOSH! THESE BROWNIES ARE NOT GOOD! People please dont even waste your indgredients on this. It's a waste of time and money. No amount of doctoring will help these brownies. I give this recipe about a -50
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
This recipe was perfect for diabetics, but like any recipe, to make it perfect, you have to modify as you see fit. I used in fructose, instead of splenda, sugarfree chocolate syrup instead of unsweetened chocolate, evaporated milk instead of skim, 2 teaspoons of baking powder, and a box of sugarfree cheesecake pudding, but I added it to the mix, instead of making frosting. If anything, mine came out as moist as cake. I actually made it 4 days ago and it is still as moist. It was not as thick, but the flour is what makes it thick and being a diabetic myself, more flour is the last thing I need. P.S.---Splenda makes things dry anyway, so it is best to use the splenda for baking or only use half the amount; it tells you that on the package.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
These brownies were horrible. They were flat and bitter. The pudding tasted like pudding, but did nothing to improve the taste of the inedible "brownies". I have had sugar-free brownies before, I know it is possible for them to taste good. These are not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
These tasted horrible! They were very dry and pasty. The chocolate pudding tasted fine, but didn't cover up the terrible taste of the brownie itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
Expert Shannon's tips are good ones, however, Dutch process cocoa is NO less bitter than natural cocoa, only somewhat less acidic. In fact, the "Dutching" process removes many of the more subtle chocolate flavor components along with the acid, and many people prefer natural's flavor for that reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Un-salvageable! I tried the recommendations of the other reviewers and still it failed. And upon review, here's why: brownie recipes generally do not include a liquid (milk water, etc.) when the milk vaporizes it will leave a void in the volume of the final brownies (which is why the brownies sunk after baking to a flat object; the volume there at the beginning was not there at the end due to the loss of the water. Baking soda will NOT help raise the brownies because baking soda leavens recipes when it is involved in a chemical reaction, typically you see it paired with lemon juice, yogurt, or buttermilk, which is not the case here. The other time you see milk or other liquid in a recipe like this is if there is also a pretty good starch (ie: corn starch or tapioca) involved, which may help a bit with the volume issues and stability of the final texture (for those looking to fix this recipe...) The volume was off in the original and that explains the excessive flour use, which contributes to the bitter flavor. But unless you have a lot of time on your hands and patience to fix the errors of this recipe, I wouldn't attempt this. I think allrecipe.com should remove it entirely!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I made these with 1/4 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp vanilla, and 2% milk. They tasted ok for being sugar free. After they were taken out of the oven they fell, so they ended up being pretty flat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
I made these brownies and had four people to tell me that they were the best ones that they had ever eaten. All were diabetic. I did leave off the topping and I did add 1/4 tsp of baking powder to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollandale, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States