Sugar Free Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I made these with 1/4 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp vanilla, and 2% milk. They tasted ok for being sugar free. After they were taken out of the oven they fell, so they ended up being pretty flat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
I made these brownies and had four people to tell me that they were the best ones that they had ever eaten. All were diabetic. I did leave off the topping and I did add 1/4 tsp of baking powder to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollandale, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
I was recently diagnosed as Insulin Resistant, so I cannot have sugar at all now. I was excited to find this recipe because I am a chocholate lover esp. when it comes to brownies. I amde this recipe and when I finally had some I was so disappointed. I am glad that some people do love it, everyone is entitled to their oppinions. No one should be put down because they didnt like it. I just wont be making this again. Except the pudding lol. Yum. I do appreciate someone making recipes that are suagr free though. SO thank you for helping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
I am diabetic and this is a GREAT recipe. I made one change. I am not crazy about the tastes of artificial sweeteners, including Splenda. I used one small package of dry chocolate pudding and filled the remainder of the cup with Splenda. For those that thought the brownies were rubbery, you probably baked them to long. Great job Judy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
I think there is something missing in these brownies. How about some baking powder? I made two batches and they were like rubber
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
I made these for my boyfriend who doesnt like sugar in his sweets. he can eat it but doesnt like to. he said they were ok tasting. he didnt like the puddy topping so its best u leave that out .. the browines were ok. minus the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
I was really excited about these, but they just didn't have any flavor. They were also only about 1/2 inch thick, too thin for the kind of brownies I like. The "frosting" is more like a pudding pie in a brownie like shell. I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHOANELLIEB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
I made these for my grandma who is a diabetic and she loved them! Modifications were: 1/4 tsp. baking powder & 1/2 tsp. vanilla; I used 2% milk instead of skim and I did not use the frosting. *At first they looked cakelike, but as they cooled they went down and look like brownies. They smelt sooo good too! I didn't try them b/c my daughter is allergic to dairy and I nurse her. So, neither of us can have dairy. But my grandma gave them 4 stars!*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
This is the best brownies i have ever tasted even know i am can eat anything this is the first time i have ever tryied these sugar free brownies i will give you 25 stars if there where this many thanks, Jennifer cox
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
I decided to try making this recipe with pecans instead of walnuts, 2% milk instead of skim and without the pudding frosting. As I mixed the ingredients, the kitchen filled with a lovely cocoa smell. As I baked it, the house filled with a wonderful aroma. As I let it cool, my mouth watered in anticipation. They looked a little flat, but still beautiful, with a perfect crust. I cut a small square and took a bite... UGH! Oh, these are HORRIBLE! X-p Its like bland bread with nuts... hardly any cocoa flavor and only a slight sweet aftertaste. The one positive thing I have to say about these is that they don't have a greasy feel in one's mouth (though they have an incredibly large amount of fat. I am diabetic BTW; as per the Canadian Diabetes Association symbols, the recipe as described is ~8 starch, 3 protein and 25 (yes, TWENTY FIVE) fat; ~1850 cal, with nuts). My wife (not diabetic) found them even worse. I'm not a 'chef nazi' and I wasn't trying to commit suicide by bad-brownie, this is just a BAD RECIPE. Look elsewhere for diabetic dessert recipes lest you get disappointed (why not just sick to the 'sugar free, chocolate fudge flavored instant pudding'; those (i.e. Jell-O) are always good by themselves (though I recommend using at least 2% milk, not skim) and have FAR less calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States