Sugar Free Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I tried all of the modification listed however still not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
The recipe as it is was not very good good. Actually, not terrible for a sugar free recipe, but even so, not yummy. What messed it up for me was the chocolate pudding as frosting. It just tasted funny and took away the chocolate flavor. I think the brownie part would have been pretty good without it. Next time I will try the tip recommended by another reviewer of adding the pudding mix inside. It just didn't taste right on top - what could be less fudgy than a brownie with pudding on top of it. Wait, I just remembered this cheesecake I made from this site called "brownie chocolate chip cheesecake" back before I knew I had to watch sugar...it has a box of brownies as the crust of the cheesecake. I'm always trying to think of a good sugar free cheesecake crust, so I think this brownie recipe minus the pudding would be perfect for a sugar free cheesecake crust! I will have to try that this weekend with a sugar free cheesecake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baton Rouge Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
I'll admit that I have never cooked with splenda and stevia before (I had to use both since my new box of Splenda only had 1/2 c. in it!) The taste is okay, the texture dense, but weirdly, the whole thing sizzled in the pan while baking! I don't know if it was the butter and sugar substitute? I used a bit of PAM to prevent non-sticking, but I doubt that was the issue. Anyway, it was a good first attempt, and I did follow the adjustments suggested by the earlier posters. Might be worth a second try without the stevia and without the PAM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I can not have any sugar so am always looking for a sugar free treat recipe so I can get just a little of my 'chocolate' fix periodically. After reading the reviews I was a bit skeptical of trying this recipe. I followed a few of the suggestions and this recipe turned out great. I did add the baking powder and the vanilla. I also followed what someone had said and for the splenda, I took the measuring cup and put in the smaller box of s/f chocolate pudding mix in there and then finished filling the remainder of the way with the splenda. I used only evaporated milk and I did use about 1/4 cup more than it called for. I did not put the topping on and boy, me and my family loved them. Oh, I didn't use the nuts either. I made it a few times and am sitting here eating it as I type!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I didn't like these at all....I only bake sugar free and these were the worst things I have made. No flavor at all! Waste of ingredients, we threw them away after trying one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
OH MY GOSH! THESE BROWNIES ARE NOT GOOD! People please dont even waste your indgredients on this. It's a waste of time and money. No amount of doctoring will help these brownies. I give this recipe about a -50
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
This recipe was perfect for diabetics, but like any recipe, to make it perfect, you have to modify as you see fit. I used in fructose, instead of splenda, sugarfree chocolate syrup instead of unsweetened chocolate, evaporated milk instead of skim, 2 teaspoons of baking powder, and a box of sugarfree cheesecake pudding, but I added it to the mix, instead of making frosting. If anything, mine came out as moist as cake. I actually made it 4 days ago and it is still as moist. It was not as thick, but the flour is what makes it thick and being a diabetic myself, more flour is the last thing I need. P.S.---Splenda makes things dry anyway, so it is best to use the splenda for baking or only use half the amount; it tells you that on the package.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
These brownies were horrible. They were flat and bitter. The pudding tasted like pudding, but did nothing to improve the taste of the inedible "brownies". I have had sugar-free brownies before, I know it is possible for them to taste good. These are not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
These tasted horrible! They were very dry and pasty. The chocolate pudding tasted fine, but didn't cover up the terrible taste of the brownie itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
Expert Shannon's tips are good ones, however, Dutch process cocoa is NO less bitter than natural cocoa, only somewhat less acidic. In fact, the "Dutching" process removes many of the more subtle chocolate flavor components along with the acid, and many people prefer natural's flavor for that reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Vegan Brownies

A great chocolate dessert for people who avoid dairy and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States