Sugar Free Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
not so great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I took the advice of the experts and added the baking powder and vanilla, they turned out really good. My husband is diabetic and he LOVED them!! He said they were GREAT! Said they ranked right up there with hot fudge cake at Shoney's. He ate them with ice cream and said it was out of this world!! Thanks for the advice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I make these for my diabetic father, but I like them too. The chocolate fudge icing adds a lot of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Ok - I am not diabetic but do try and eat low carb. That being said - I made a couple changes that made these pretty good! I took one packet of SF choc pudding and put it into the 1 cup measuring cup. I then made up for most of the difference with Splenda but did add .25 cup sugar (for sweetness) I also added mint choc chips and I used a stand mixer with a whip to fluff it up. I then sprinkled coconut on top. YUMMY... very dense and cake like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Skelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I tried both the original recipe and the improvements and some tricks of my own, and NOTHING HELPED! They were thick, rubbery, and had little to no taste at all. You'd be better off using a regular brownie recipe and just substituting Splenda and such to make it sugar free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I added about 1/8 cup more cocoa to the brownies and didn't add the "frosting". My husband, who's diabetic, liked the taste but said they were a bit dry. Personally I found them dry and thickly solid in texture. I'll try this recipe again but with some (hopefully) improvements. For someone wanting a chocolate fix, this is great. For someone wanting sublime brownies...this isn't quite it yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Tastes like matzah bread. I don not recommend these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I made these the other night when i was craving something chocolate. I thought they tasted very good topped w/ some sugar free cool whip since I didn't have the pudding to make the frosting. One friend said they tasted salty (kinda weird since I used self rising flour)and my fiancee said they were kinda dry, but I thought they were perfectly fine and that's all that matters since Iam the one who's diabetic. I did add the vanilla as other reviewers suggested. I used regular old hershey's cocoa powder and it wasn't bitter at all. I used the 1c of sweetener as called for and it didn't have a weird taste. Oh, and I didn't have nuts so I didn't put them in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Wish I could find a good sugar free brownie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Ok, so im trying the brownies now. The are def missing something...Dont know what. But I tell ya what..for someone who cant eat sugar, it dont have to taste just like a brownie as long as its good. I think they were good in their own way..Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Vegan Brownies

A great chocolate dessert for people who avoid dairy and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States