Sugar-Free Bread Pudding with Whiskey Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
I made this bread pudding exactly by the recipe with one exception, I used a dozen biscuits instead of the french bread. I have several Aunts and Uncles who are diabetic and was looking for a new recipe that they could enjoy at a family dinner. This caught my eye because my oldest Aunt had been talking about the great biscuit puddings that my grand mother used to make when they were all growing up. While they all said that this was not quite like what Mom used to make they all enjoyed it very much and three of them had to have copies to make later at home. This was my first experience cooking with Splenda but it was simply fantastic and I will be using it again, probably many times. I will make this pudding again too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
I made this at Thanksgiving for my mother who is diabetic. Well, it was everyones favorite. I followed the instructions exactly except I used a 9X9 square baking dish and added about a cup of walnuts. It was delicious, especially the whiskey sauce! I plan to make this at Christmas as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAAL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
My husband is diabetic and I am always looking for a different recipe for desserts for him. It turned out delicious and I didn't even need to put the sauce over it. Thank you! Pam Federico
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMA56

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
Yum! I made another sauce with date syrup as well for those that don't like whiskey :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Warrington, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
I made this dessert for a Mardi Gras dinner Monday night (with different dishes from New Orleans). My friend is 8 months pregnant and has gestational diabetes so I made this sugar-free dessert to accommodate her. IT WAS OUT OF THIS WORLD! I've never cooked sugar free; never used any aspartame products in cooking but you couldn't tell there wasn't sugar in it! And the whiskey sauce...WOW that really made it delectable. I put the individual servings (cubed and sauced) into Creme Brulee forms (these are little quiche pan-like cassarole forms) and put them under the broiler. Definitely a huge hit and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annalisa Schmad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
This got rave reviews by my guests and my husband. Only one of my guests is a diabetic but I thought everyone would enjoy this recipe. And I "thought" right!! Be careful with how much whiskey you put in the sauce. Most of my guests liked it but others said it was a touch heavy with whiskey taste. That is, of course, a matter of personal preference. But ALL the reviews for the bread pudding was the same...."excellent flavor/texture". Super simple and fast to make also. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
This was great! I modified this recipe to use some peaches from our tree last summer, and made a sauce using 1 cup of peach juice, 2T each of fat free half and half, fat free sweetened condensed milk, and Splenda, 1T of vanilla and cinnamon to taste. Everything was very well received and didn't last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
This was amazing! Loved by everyone! I made it exactly as written & the entire pan was gone in one swoop! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Great way to heat sauce without curdling egg is to put in small pot or bowl & place that in bowl of nuked hot water. Wanted sauce warm as says to serve pudding cold. Came out great with sour dough on hand. I would like slightly less sweet, but everyone else thought fabulous. Added cinnamon & nutmeg to milk & wisked it till mixed in thoroughly before adding milk to bread. Thanks Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Viki Moore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
I made this bread pudding and it was delcious. I didn't make the whiskey sauce though. It is good enough without a sauce. I did add some cinnamon though, and only put in 1/4 cup of raisins to keep the sugar content lower. I was glad to find a sugar free recipe because I have been trying to convert recipes and they always come out too dry. Sometimes they go in the garbage, BUT not this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States