Sugar-Free Bread Pudding with Whiskey Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Just wonderful. Will make again. Maxine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maxine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This was delicious! Being pre-diabetic I look for this type of recipe to share with others as well. This will fit the bill next time I need a reduced sugar dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by whitty2898
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
My husband LOVED this bread pudding, and since we're both on a diet, we were happy to have a scrumptious dessert to kill our sweet tooth. The only thing I would change is the sauce. A little less whiskey will do the trick, as you can definitely feel the 'whiskey burn' if made as instructed! Great recipe though - Thanks:)!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitty2898
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
a family favorite at the holidays! I use 5 eggs instead of 3 and add 1 tablespoon of vanilla and 2 teaspoons of cinnamon. I use more raisins also, maybe 1 1/2 cup, and mix them in instead of keeping them on the top. bake for 60 minutes at 350 then turn the oven off, crack the door and let it cool inside the oven for a few hours. last time we made the sauce with southern comfort and everyone thought it turned out much better. more subtle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
I would have rated this recipe at a 5-star, except that there is an apparent typo. I believe that it should call for 2 teaspoons of vanilla instead of 2 tablespoons. Two tablespoons of vanilla ruins the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
FABULOUS!, with my changes; added fresh peaches instead of raisens, and used peach liquour instead of whiskey. I had to hide it from my husband or there wouldn't have been any left for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This turned out pretty good. Though I think the sauce is a bit too sweet. The pudding can stand alone without the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Everyone at Easter LOVED this even the ones who never eat things with splenda in it (I may have forgotten to tell them until after they ate it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Harrah, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
excellent! easy to make, very moist and light, but still rich. I've replaced my granny's recipe with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Mc P

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I took the advice of others and doctoredd it up a bit. I reduced the raisins to 1/4 cup, added 3 peeled,pitted and chopped plums. I mashed one ripe banana and added it. I doubled the vanilla and added 1 tsp of cinnamon. For the glaze, I replace the whiskey with lemon juice instead. The cooking time was increased an additional 20 minutes to reach the desired firmness. It was a hit with the family and we didn't have any leftovers either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1SassyMassey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States