Sugar Free Blueberry Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This recipe deserves more than 5 stars! I made this for Easter for my diabetic parents and EVERYONE liked it! It can be difficult to find a GOOD diabetic recipe that tastes "normal", this didn't taste sugar free at all! I used Splenda White sugar for the cake and Splenda Brown sugar for the topping and used real butter~Absolutely WONDERFUL! Thanks for a tasty & healthy recipe :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
I love this recipe! The only tip I would pass along is that it seems there is too much butter in the topping mix. I have had to add flour to get the right consistancy. I have made it both with Splenda and regular sugar and both times it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
I made this to take to work today and everyone loved it; it disappeared quickly! I was afraid to make it with all Splenda, fearing that articial sweetener aftertaste, so I made it with half Splenda and half regular sugar. (For the brown sugar, I used 3/4 cup regular brown sugar, and 3/4 cup Splenda Brown Sugar Blend. For those of you who are diabetic, please be aware that Splenda Brown Sugar Blend contains 1/2 regular brown sugar...it's NOT sugar free!) I also subbed 1 cup of white whole wheat flour for one of the 3 cups of all-purpose flour. I baked it in a catering half-pan, about 9x12 inches, for 43 minutes, and it came out just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
As a diabetic who has long searched for a good sugar-free recipe, I was encouraged by the previous reviews, but I have to say, I don't agree with them at all. If you really can't tell that this is made with sugar substitutes, it's because you haven't had the real thing in so long. My husband, who didn't know it was made with substitutes, took one bite and said, "There's something wrong with this."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
YUM! I can't believe this sugar free coffee cake tasted as good as it did. I made this for Mother's Day and it was a hit! I used Splenda brand white and brown sugars. I used the frozen blueberries and thawed them before adding to the batter. I baked it an additional 10 minutes longer than called for because the middle wasn't quite set. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grantville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
my mother is diabetic and i am always lokking for recipes like this.... i made it this morning she loved it and my father who isnt diabetic loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
I made this recipe for my diabetic father. Instead of making a cake I made muffins. It was quick and easy to make him a basket of them for a little father's day suprise. We all enjoyed them for breakfast with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deniece A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Wow!! I am Type 2 Diabetic and 9 months pregnant. I don't know why I couldn't have found this recipe sooner. It is fantastic. I feel so guilty eating it because it doesn't taste sugar free. Will make again real soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Catania, Sicilia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I made this with regular sugars and it was moist and delicious. I suggest baking it 5-10 min. longer than recipe calls for. This one's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILive2Eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I made this for friends who are diabetic, and it's the best reduced-sugar cake I have tried making so far. Splenda cakes tend to be rather dense, but this one was fluffier. It's not as fluffy as a cake that uses regular sugar, but it's definitely fluffier than any other Splenda cake I have tried making. I made it during the summer, so I had fresh blueberries that were in season. For the topping, I used Splenda Brown Sugar blend (which contains some real brown sugar, so it's not sugar-free). Instead of one full teaspoon of vanilla, I used 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla and 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract. I know from experience that this combination works really well to bring out the taste of blueberries. The recipe yielded two 6" round cake pans. I would definitely make this recipe again. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States