Sugar Free Blueberry Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I made this for friends who are diabetic, and it's the best reduced-sugar cake I have tried making so far. Splenda cakes tend to be rather dense, but this one was fluffier. It's not as fluffy as a cake that uses regular sugar, but it's definitely fluffier than any other Splenda cake I have tried making. I made it during the summer, so I had fresh blueberries that were in season. For the topping, I used Splenda Brown Sugar blend (which contains some real brown sugar, so it's not sugar-free). Instead of one full teaspoon of vanilla, I used 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla and 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract. I know from experience that this combination works really well to bring out the taste of blueberries. The recipe yielded two 6" round cake pans. I would definitely make this recipe again. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I made this my mom, who can't have sugar. She adore this coffee cake. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This is so easy and it is AWESOME!! I highly recommend it to anyone that is craving something sweet or wants to impress the in-laws!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I was a little skeptical about these,as I am not a fan of artificial sweeteners,but my dad is a diabetic so I thought I would give them a try. They we SO good,you really couldn't even tell it wasen't made with real sugar.Kind of tasted like a cross between cake and a scone(but not as dry as a scone).For anyone looking for a sugar free recipe,this one is definitely worth making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracyd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
I love this recipe! The only tip I would pass along is that it seems there is too much butter in the topping mix. I have had to add flour to get the right consistancy. I have made it both with Splenda and regular sugar and both times it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I was diagnosed with pre diabetes just recently and was missing dessert, and we had just gone and picked fresh blueberries, so I was looking for a sugar free recipe when I came across this one. I am SOOO glad I found this it is absolutely AWESOME!!!! My other half is not diabetic and also thoroughly enjoyed this!!! I used blueberries that we had frozen and had to cook it for about 10 min longer. I will be recommending this to all people I know who are on low or no sugar diets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This was soo good for being very low in sugar. I love sweets but I don't need all of the sugar I get from them. I did use whole wheat flour for the cake and both white and brown Splenda. I turned out great. Still very moist even with the wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I'd give this one 10 stars if I could. My husband cannot have sugar so we both went insane for this moist luscious treat. I used frozen blueberries and only sprayed my pan with non-stick spray. No extra added time used and came out, as my youngest daughter likes to say: PERFECTO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Very good. Made this for my diabetic father-in-law who was visiting. Tastes best while still hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armywife892

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This was devine. I new favorite in our house from now on. Lesa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States