Sugar Free Blueberry Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I made this for friends who are diabetic, and it's the best reduced-sugar cake I have tried making so far. Splenda cakes tend to be rather dense, but this one was fluffier. It's not as fluffy as a cake that uses regular sugar, but it's definitely fluffier than any other Splenda cake I have tried making. I made it during the summer, so I had fresh blueberries that were in season. For the topping, I used Splenda Brown Sugar blend (which contains some real brown sugar, so it's not sugar-free). Instead of one full teaspoon of vanilla, I used 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla and 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract. I know from experience that this combination works really well to bring out the taste of blueberries. The recipe yielded two 6" round cake pans. I would definitely make this recipe again. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I made this my mom, who can't have sugar. She adore this coffee cake. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This is so easy and it is AWESOME!! I highly recommend it to anyone that is craving something sweet or wants to impress the in-laws!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I was a little skeptical about these,as I am not a fan of artificial sweeteners,but my dad is a diabetic so I thought I would give them a try. They we SO good,you really couldn't even tell it wasen't made with real sugar.Kind of tasted like a cross between cake and a scone(but not as dry as a scone).For anyone looking for a sugar free recipe,this one is definitely worth making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracyd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
I love this recipe! The only tip I would pass along is that it seems there is too much butter in the topping mix. I have had to add flour to get the right consistancy. I have made it both with Splenda and regular sugar and both times it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I was diagnosed with pre diabetes just recently and was missing dessert, and we had just gone and picked fresh blueberries, so I was looking for a sugar free recipe when I came across this one. I am SOOO glad I found this it is absolutely AWESOME!!!! My other half is not diabetic and also thoroughly enjoyed this!!! I used blueberries that we had frozen and had to cook it for about 10 min longer. I will be recommending this to all people I know who are on low or no sugar diets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This was soo good for being very low in sugar. I love sweets but I don't need all of the sugar I get from them. I did use whole wheat flour for the cake and both white and brown Splenda. I turned out great. Still very moist even with the wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I'd give this one 10 stars if I could. My husband cannot have sugar so we both went insane for this moist luscious treat. I used frozen blueberries and only sprayed my pan with non-stick spray. No extra added time used and came out, as my youngest daughter likes to say: PERFECTO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Very good. Made this for my diabetic father-in-law who was visiting. Tastes best while still hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armywife892

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This was devine. I new favorite in our house from now on. Lesa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States