Sugar Free Applesauce Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2000
A very healthy cake. Is a bit plain though. I recommend getting cream cheese frosting from a can to even out the healthfulness of the cake. Still healthy!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2001
Moist cake that would benefit from the addition of raisins or dates and some more spices, like cinnamon and cloves. If you want to really "frost" the cake with the suggested frosting, you need to prepare it while the cake is baking and then chill it to thicken it up. You really need to be careful to prepare the pan or it will stick. For those who really must be strict about their diets, this isn't a bad option. It isn't flat and tasteless as so many are and it doesn't call for odd or difficult to find ingredients. I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
I used this cake for my son's first birthday party. He loved it as did the rest of our guests. I added a bit more juice concentrate to the frosting to give it more flavor. You also have to make sure the top layer of frosting is thick enough because when it sits for a bit, the cake looks spotty in areas that have little icing. The hardest part was not tearing the cake when trying to put the two halves back together. I found that you could substitute any unsweetened fruit juice concentrate if you happen to be out of apple. --a sugar conscious mom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
I love sweet stuff, and this satisfied my sweettooth. I am a swimmer, and before big swim meets I try to reduce the amount of suger I eat. My brother opted out of eating any, and my sister tried it and hated it. My parents both loved it though. I would recommend this recipe to everyone. And if you need to add a little bit of sugar. I didn't and it still tasted great! Also, don;'t use too much frosting on the inside, because if its too thin on the top, it will look like its green and moldy:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
The cake was yummy and moist. Perfect for us sugar-concious! I used a mixture of millet, spelt, and barley flour instead. -- I would recommend doubling the frosting recipe. I too had issues with not enough coverage (and it does look like mold!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I had to bake it 30 min longer Was'nt to bad for no sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I followed this recipe to the exact, and I tell ya, I feel like I wasted a lot of money making this cake. It has no flavor at all, Im always looking and trying new recipes to make for my mom that is sugar free. I actually throwed it out. It was that bad. It really needs some other flavors in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I followed the recipe to the letter and this cake was very bland. I may as well have been chewing on my dishtowel. The icing is definite keeper though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
bland no flavor tasted like baked flour.. if not for icing, would have no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tatorsaladno.1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I and my kids are pretty finicky, so I'm not quite sure why this recipe is getting a bad rap! After reading the reviews, I still wanted to try it, since one of my kiddos displays auspergers-like symptoms when he's on sugar but still deserves to have cake every now and then. I added a 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, 1/2 tsp of nutmeg, and 2 tsps of vanilla since people complained of blandness. Still, I was skeptical, but it was wonderful to me... and more importantly, to my kids (one is having a piece with her breakfast right now)! Maybe it's just because we've been off of sugars and artificial sweeteners for a while now... but I don't think so. We're typically a pretty hard win! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States