Sugar-Free and Dairy-Free Slow Cooker Steel-Cut Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I followed the recipe as far as ingredients go, omitting the optional raisins. I have 3 slow cookers, but not one has a medium setting. I used the smallest one, a 2-quart slow cooker. I used the HIGH setting and stirred at the end of each hour for 2 hours. Then I turned it to LOW for another hour, stirring after each half hour segment. I understand some people do not want sugar, and I can respect that. I prefer a small amount of erythritol/stevia blend and added it at the end before I filled 6 small half pint jars. Now I have breakfast ready for the week and can add berries or nothing at all. ***Update - This is delicious cold even! A great grab-n-go breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
So simple and delicious!! I often make it just as written, and other times leave out the banana or raisins and add some cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger then squeeze in some honey for sweetness. Someone mentioned leaving out the raisins if omitting sugar is your goal, but it is refined sugar that many of us are trying to cut back on, so go ahead and add those raisins if this is your goal too! This is a recipe that begs to be tweaked to your liking - add the spices/fruits/sweetener of your choice and enjoy! Oh, and it will fill a bunch of jars, they just won't be huge jars! I use the little jelly jars that hold about a cup. But this makes for a very filling breakfast, so you don't need more than a cup in the morning to feel satisfied and get on with your day! :) I also warm mine up then add some Almond Milk - yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Really like the way the bananas added flavor to the water and I added honey to taste. When putting into 1 pint jars I would fill 1/2 and add a layer of fruit (bananas, blueberries, pear, raspberries)then another layer of oatmeal and top with more fruit. Sent it through my office microwave for 1:45 and enjoyed a tasty breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
1- I use steel cut oats. 2- I use ripe bananas. 3- For alternative flavors, I like to substitute (fresh or frozen) blueberries for raisins...Or a pureed apple. Be creative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Felgner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
For our house, it's not important that we leave out dairy, so I added a tablespoon or two of butter for richness. Serve it with milk or half and half and I feel like I've got Heaven in a bowl! I'm about to make this for the third time since my first batch a week ago. I like it that much. But I prefer it minus the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLASHER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I do something similar.... Raisins, cinnamon,with a smidge of cloves & nutmeg... Into crock pot with 5 cups water and 1 heaping cup Of steel cut oats and raw honey... Put on low, go about my chores, stirring occasionally, and when finished, Pour into a loaf pan.... Each morning slice off what I want, put the rest back into fridge.... Looking forward to trying the bananas .... Sounds very good....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I don't slow cook mine but I do make batches and store them in jars, ready to go each morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Will use other fruit and spices. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Divernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Wow so easy! I made it overnight in crock pot set on low and it was delicious, I recommend using a liner for this one as the oatmeal sticks to sides pretty well I have always wanted to make an overnight oatmeal and this was a great start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Biddeford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Awesome!!! I cooked it on high for 2 hours stirring about every 30-45 minutes. I put mine into 1 1/4 size Tupperware so only made 4 a little larger servings:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Easy recipe for tender, sweet and savory chicken thighs.

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States